OCing help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2004, 01:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It sounds to me like your CPU may be 80C, sometimes detectors can be confused, you really must watch all sensors and don't let any of them get above 60C (except for GPU).

To overclock your CPU or memory it is essential that you have modified the VCore at least a little, this adds stability and increases temperature.

My Barton XP2500+ (1.83GHz, 333FSB) is overclocked to 2.2GHz with a VCore of 1.70V - temperature is about 50C under load. I had the option to change my multiplier though.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 08:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Well let me ask you this, if i needed to up the Vcore, why would it run fine forever, just not loading the OS???

Even after letting it cycle itself 10 times it just doesnt load OS...

Anways, Ill slightly mess with the voltage, will get back to you.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 11:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's NOT running fine if you're OS isn't loading...that's a completely contradicting statement.

Your computer is going to need to use a lot more CPU power when trying to load the OS than when it is just posting.

But if you're computer isn't loading the OS then it's not 'running fine forever'

The CPU needs more voltage to deliver the speeds that you're setting past the stock speeds.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 02:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

So I figured out under PC Health Status that the option to change the VCORE is greyed-out. I cannot change anything in that submenu that will allow me to access the greyed out menu items, which include other voltages for other devices.

I've lookes at the MB Manual for possable jumpers that would/would not allow me to edit these setting, and there are none, I have the latest Bios version, but now i am completely stuck on what I can and cannot do.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 02:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well under PC health status it tells you of the Vcore but you're not supposed to be able to changed it there. You want to look for an advanced settings menu unless you've already thoroughly looked through the BIOS and found no Vcore options. If you can't raise the Vcore then you need to back down the overclock
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 01:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Well, that is very dissapointing. Is there anyway to manually set whether you can edit the values?
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.