OCing GPU not really showing improvement? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2006, 11:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well that a really small overclock. Reason being the card comes overclocked. Video card overclocking really doesn't give noticable preformance boosts. Theonly time your going to see an improvement is in benchmarks with numbers.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 01:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Yeah, it's because it's already overclocked. Plus, a 5% - 10% increase is more than I'd hope, so it's good.

I also just bought that card, it's nice knowing that it overclocks even further. Are you using stock cooling?
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 06:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea I'm OCing on stock because the temps didn't change. I probably might leave it at 615/1700.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 10:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Try doing some game benchmarks. Sometimes synthetics aren't as accurate. Oh, and try 3Dmark05 or 3Dmark06! That could also be the problem (maybe 3Dmark01 is too old to take advantage of some of its features).

I think this card has already being pushed to its max by XFX, so it's understandable it won't gain any performance by further overclock. If it's stable, you can still keep it at 615/1700 just for bragging rights .
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 10:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i noticed in your first experiment you started by oc'ing your memory... i've found more sucess by oc'ing your gpu as high as it can go while still being stable (use atitool's artifact scanner) and then upping the memory... it makes for the most stable overclock imo
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 01:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

try doing 3dmark05 or something.... why are you still on 01!!! if you do 05 i'm sure you'll notice much higher jumps in scores with oc'ing
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I tried 3dmark 03 and 05, results:

03:
stock 590/1600 - 13716
OC 615/1700 - 14079

05:
stockk 590/1600 - 5295
OC 615/1700 - 6730

Big jump for 05. I'm tempted to push it further. Again no big change in temps....maybe 1-2 degrees. I'm also interested in OCing the 3700+. But I have corsair value ram. Is the OC possible? My temps are good for cpu too. About 30C idle and 37C load.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 04:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Ah, that's substantial! That's a 27% increase in performance, awesome!

What are you using for the OC? The included software? I'll definitely push my card that far.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 05:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

For OCing the GPU, I'm using coolbits. I'm a little surprised with the stock cooler. Maybe I'll be able to push it further with a VF900. Is it possible for me to OC my 3700+ even though I have value ram?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 05:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Coolbits, understood. I'll give it a try sometime this week.

Value RAM won't overclock much, so you'll have to play around with the FSB and memory divider/multiplier. But I think it's entirely possible.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.