OCing GPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2008, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Question OCing GPU

when ocing gpu using RivaTuner, do i only move the core and shader clocks? or do i have to adjust the memory clock also? how do i know if it is stable?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: OCing GPU

You should adjust the core and memory clocks. I tend to leave the shader clock alone. The only way you can know if it is stable is by playing the game. If you get artifacts then you went to far.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: OCing GPU

Link them at first, shadder and core.

I run 3dmark to test.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: OCing GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
You should adjust the core and memory clocks. I tend to leave the shader clock alone. The only way you can know if it is stable is by playing the game. If you get artifacts then you went to far.
RivaTuner links the clock and shader. What are artifacts?*EDIT* i figured what artifacts are** Now in what increments should i adjust for the 3 or 2(core/mem)?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: OCing GPU

you should be able to unlink the core and mem. Artifacts are any discoloration or pixel popping. Basically anything out of the ordinary while gaming
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: OCing GPU

up the core and mem clocks between 5 and 10MHz between each run of 3dmark... when you start to see artifacts (which will usually appear as snow or out of place pixels) you should back down about 5MHz
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 12:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: OCing GPU

Wow that's pushing the card to the limit. Usually I clock back down at least 25mhz whenever I see artifacts.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 05:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: OCing GPU

yeah i kinda like to take it as far as possible... at the moment i've got my cards clocked up to the very last MHz i can get out of them... if i push it just one MHz more on either the memory or the core, i start getting artifacts in the background in crysis... only a few here and there, but enough that i know that's all i can get outta the cards right now
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 05:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: OCing GPU

25mhz is quite a lot.....its not like artifacts kill the card or something.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 06:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: OCing GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
25mhz is quite a lot.....its not like artifacts kill the card or something.
just your gaming experience! lol

lots of people (even the guys at Guru3D) recommend backing off 25MHz, but really, artifacts are just a visual sign that you're getting to the brink of the cards potential... think of it as something to say "Stop there... stop while you're ahead!!"
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chad's Garage Sell! psu, gpu, case, mobo, Chad711 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 12-01-2008 09:01 PM
Folding@Home NVIDIA GPU Client Confirmed maroon1 New Technology and Products 2 05-26-2008 11:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.