OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2007, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

Ok..I'm sure a lot of you will think of me as stupid for this, but I haven't overclocked before, and this mobo's BIOS layout is different than what I'm used to, as well... So, here's my question... I know what values to modify the timings of my RAM (after pressing Ctrl+F1), and the multiplier of my CPU, but that's about it that I can tell straight-forward. What I'm not sure about is which values are there to modify the voltage/etc of my CPU/RAM? All I saw related to voltage was "over voltage" and those were "+0.1" or w/e (been a while since I've looked). So...which values are the right ones for me to modify? Keep in mind, I haven't OC'd before, so this'll be a new experience for me =P. Specs for the comp are in sig (PC 2 of 2 in animation).

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.

Edit: Have to go for about an hour or so, but I shall be back/respond to any replies I get. Thanks again.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

you usally see over voltage for ram, pcie, pci, etc.

you'll see the actual voltage rating for CPU
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

I have the same mobo. You can adjust the actual voltave for the cpu. But for the rest you can +.1 +.2, etc.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

This is all done under the M.I.T.

For starters:

CPU Host Clock Control: Enabled
CPU Host Frequency: 346MHz (This will set the CPU frequency to 2.7GHz)
System Memory Multiplier: 2.00 (This will set the RAM to run at the same frequency as the FSB, for a 1:1 ratio.)
Performance Enhancement Setting: Standard (Will help in stabilizing the overclock.)
Memory timings: (Press Ctrl + F1 at the main menu, and then go back to the M.I.T., to set them. I suggest you set them at manufacturer's specs, to start.)
System Voltage Control: Manual (Better than leaving it at automatic, beacause auto gives more voltage than needed.)

Then stress with Orthos. It's best to run the stress test for 8+ hours. So run this test, while you're sleeping, or whenever you have the time.

After the stress test, passes for 8 hours, with no error...continue to increase the CPU Host Freq., in increments of 10-15MHz. Then stress with Orthos. Stress the overclock, for every increase in the CPU Host Freq. (FSB).

Now, if the stress fails with a reboot or freezing of the computer, or if the Orthos just stops....go back to the M.I.T., and increase the CPU Voltage Control, by the next highest notch.

Once you get higher than maybe, 400FSB, start to set the FSB and MCH overvoltages at +0.1v, to help with the stability.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 09:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

Thanks guys, I appreciate it =). Ups to you especially, b1g, always come through for the newbs xD.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

off topic a bit... but sorta on topic.. this one overclocking guide says to go find the highest recommended voltage for your CPU and crank it up all the way up there... and then start increasing the FSB and stress testing... is that really acceptable or is the normal OC'ing way better
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 09:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

That is another method of doing it. Like setting the CPU voltage at 1.55v, which I think is the breaking for air. Also depends on the temperatures. But surely, you should not go above 1.6v for everyday use.

I think the normal method is better, so it's easier to find the lowest stable voltage.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 09:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
That is another method of doing it. Like setting the CPU voltage at 1.55v, which I think is the breaking for air. Also depends on the temperatures. But surely, you should not go above 1.6v for everyday use.

I think the normal method is better, so it's easier to find the lowest stable voltage.
I agree. It may be more time consuming, but at least you ensure the stability of the overclock and decrease the possibility of damage to the CPU by not immediately upping the volt all the way.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
That is another method of doing it. Like setting the CPU voltage at 1.55v, which I think is the breaking for air. Also depends on the temperatures. But surely, you should not go above 1.6v for everyday use.

I think the normal method is better, so it's easier to find the lowest stable voltage.
thats what i thought... but i was like... that may work... always good to ask the overclocking master... :P


anyways what voltage is your q6600 at?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R...

Quick question... CPU-Z says my multiplier is stuck at x6, but I know it was set at x8 (and I saw it switch to x8 a couple times in CPU-Z, but then go back to x6). I know somebody else on here had this problem, but they just had to disable a few settings in the BIOS to control that, but I'm not sure what they were...anybody know what they were?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-24-2007 02:15 AM
G.skill HZ Ram and P35 DS3R Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-07-2007 06:53 AM
Gigabyte P35- DS3R overclocking guides Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-04-2007 08:44 AM
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-19-2007 01:43 PM
What makes the GIGABYTE P-35 DS3R so Great? MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-13-2007 07:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.