OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2007, 09:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

Hey guys I bought this motherboard and cpu few days ago and also i am having trouble overclocking as it only goes far as around 310 for fsb and above that it freezes. The cpu is running at around 50 C and also any good advice on overclcoking my E6320 on this motherboard? I would like to know if easytune 5 that came with the motherboard is good or not. Also i have 2 A-Data DDR2 667 Mhz 512MB RAM in case ram also matters. I think my E6320 should go around 3.0GHz but any good overclocking tips are welcome.
__________________

advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

Software overclocking is not advisable. You should do overclocking through the BIOS. What is your vcore voltage at?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

the DS3 should be able to get at least as far as 400fps with no vMCH increace.

having you increased the CPU voltage? put the voltage control on manual, then stick the DDR2 voltage on whatever your ram is rated for, and up the CPU voltage untill it is stable.


Windows overclocking rules for benchmarking, as you can run stuff that it refuses to POST at, but yea, for 24/7 OCs, BIOS.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

I have the same set up
i would think you should get to 3
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 05:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

make sure you have the bios flashed to F11. I have the same mobo and the F11 bios version has OCing fixes for the E6320 and E6420.

you can get the bios from gigabyte's website.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

How do you flash the Bios?
nm Google,ed it
__________________

__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte m55SLI-S4 and Athlon X2 (displays garbage) clever_j New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-26-2007 09:46 AM
Gigabyte 3D Aurora question... zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-24-2007 12:33 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.