Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2007, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

my e2160 FSB is 333 multi 9x mem divider is set to make ram run at 800mz... its not very stable much higher.. will work on that later.... 29C Idle 60C under full SP2004 on both cores... voltage is currently set at auto pc wizard reads 1.392 or under full load 1.36 but the gigabyte easytune reads 1.45... which one is more reliable and are those temps too high? what is a temp that should never be touched?
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

well, you dont wnt to go over on 60-65 on load.
and dont set your volt to auto, adjust it yourself.
make sure you have cie,eist,virtualization disabled in the bios.

What cooler are you using atm? and what case to you have?

Your idle temps seem fine, but the load temp isnt safe.
Whats the abient temp in your room? thats plays a major factor in temps.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

^^ haha ambient temps.. lets see.... I have my ceiling fan on and the window open in mid winter NE...... not sure but pretty close to 35 degrees fahrenheit... as for auto ... i was just seeing how effective it was for stable ocing... its kept is stable but I will deffinatly fine tune more.. I'm just siked that it was stable at 3ghz! Opinions on betterness... higher muti or higher ram divider.... right now I have 9x333fsb and ram is 2.40 to make it run at 800mhz... should i run the mutli lower and the mem higher? as for case xion solaris 2 80mm 1 120 intake and a 92mm rosewill the ten dollar rebate on... I would say its decent...
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

well if you want to get your e2160 over 3ghz, i would suggest the tuniq tower 120 or atleast acfp.
I have my ram set at 2.

A couple ppl over here have their e2180 at around 3.2-3.5 if im not mistaken so getting help from them would be good.
I also think they had their volt around 1.45.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

Nah.. I'm Fine with 3ghz as its not my computer.. I built it as a xmas gift and the oc was an added bonus.... as for voltages i put 1.4vin bios i get 1.36 idle and 1.344 on load for the past thrre volts i tried.. 1.375 &1.4....... any ideas? thats the voltages as of PC wizard.....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodayATK View Post
Nah.. I'm Fine with 3ghz as its not my computer.. I built it as a xmas gift and the oc was an added bonus.... as for voltages i put 1.4vin bios i get 1.36 idle and 1.344 on load for the past thrre volts i tried.. 1.375 &1.4....... any ideas? thats the voltages as of PC wizard.....
do you have cie and eist disabled in the bios?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: Ocing e2160... at 3gz... 60C under load

Im also on a E2160, stock cooling and have overclocked it to 334x9 (3.0Ghz), 1.4V is stable. I was on 1.35V but although it played Crysis fine, a 3DMark05 benchmark crashed, im not sure if it was the CPU voltage but it is my guess.

I go around 65C on load, it can go to 74C though. But by the end of this month i should be on AF7, so its ok for now.
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.