OC'ing Corsair XMS Xtreme RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thresh

Desktop Engineer
I have two 512's and loading times in Doom 3 and HL2 are long and im sure it would help the overall performance. So basically wondering if anyone has the same RAM and how far they OC'd it and how. It has platinum heat spreaders so im sure you can OC very far. Im not a complete noob to oc'ing but I do know the basics. Thanks for the help

It has platinum heat spreaders so im sure you can OC very far.
That doesn't really make a difference. Most people think heatspreaders really don't do anything. Unless you have insane OC's with RAM voltages of like 3.2v for the most part heatspreaders don't have an effect or so the general concensus says.

I have two 512's and loading times in Doom 3 and HL2 are long
How are loading times long? You got a 64 with a 1gb of high performance RAM, yours should be loading faster than most peoples.

Im not a complete noob to oc'ing but I do know the very basics.

Well really the only principle of CPU OC'ing applies here and that is raising the Voltage for stability.

You won't need to do that right off the bat though.

Anyway, once you go past 200FSB as long as you have your CPU:RAM ratio set properly you will be OC'ing your RAM.

Of course it's best to have it on a 1:1 ratio so that the CPU and RAM run at the same speed....but this requires knowing the limits of your CPU unless you can adjust the multiplier then you can get the same stock GHz with a different FSB.

No point in having your RAM OC'd to 225FSB if your CPU can only communicate to it at 200FSB

I can tell you right now you won't get far leaving your CL at 2 because that's just a really tight timing as it is and for higher FSB's it's not a question as to whether or not you'll have to change it to CL 2.5

Basically you simply start upping the FSB at about 5mhz increments just like you would with a CPU or GPU OC.

Then you will want to test it with memtest86+