OCing athlon xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Question OCing athlon xp

i was wondering what is the max(but safe) extent as to how much i can overclock my cpu.
AMD anthlon XP 1800+ 1.30 GHz
i have a regular cpu fan and two more on the case. at some point in the next several months im going to get a raideater tower but until then i want to know what i can do with my regular fans.
__________________

__________________
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2...cew00t/bla.bmp
Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer do. I\'m half crazy, all for the love of you
010001100101010 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

not much, maybe rise your fsb by 10-20 MHZ
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Default

im a noob when it comes to overclocking and im confused on how i do this, there is a AI freaquency tuner and when i select it it gives me options like 5% or 10% and so on, is that what i need to change? there is also a setting were i change the voltage going to the cpu and im pretty sure thats it although im not fooling around with anything till im sure. there are some other options that i can tell you if the two above arent the right options. anyone that would like to help a OCing idoit would be... helpfull.
__________________
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2...cew00t/bla.bmp
Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer do. I\'m half crazy, all for the love of you
010001100101010 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Turn off the automatic overclocking and go do some research. There is a pretty good begginers guide to overclocking put as a sticky at the top of the Overclocking topic here at TF. Read that, do some more researching. Google is a good resource. Once you do that, you will figure some thigns out on your own.

All overclocks are different! Just because someone got a 500mhz increase on their Athalon 1.8, dosent mean you will, you may not even get a 200mhz increase. There are just so many dammed variables. Your motherboard, ram, cooling, core, the engineering of the core, all kinds of things.
Him is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

just run it with a 3/4mhz higher fsb then test it for a while. Then run it a bit higher until your temps get too high or instability occurs. Once that happens, bring it back to the last "stable" instance and test it for a few hours with prime 95.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

check the stickies!!!!!
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Default

oh, that answers my question i think. im going to check that out then if that works ill close down this post.
__________________
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2...cew00t/bla.bmp
Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer do. I\'m half crazy, all for the love of you
010001100101010 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Afaik the 1800+ runs at 1.57GHz by default.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 48
Default

well mine ran at 1.30GHz(or craptacular microsoft OS is wrong and it did run at 1.57). but i was able to put it up to 2.17GHz with out too much excess heat!
__________________
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2...cew00t/bla.bmp
Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer do. I\'m half crazy, all for the love of you
010001100101010 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 04:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

I'm pretty sure that the 1800+ is as standard 1.53GHz(133MHz/266MHz FSB). I have one myself, and it's a pain to OC at the moment. I can only OC using the FSB, because the multiplier is locked. You have to physically unlock the multiplier on the PCB of the chip itself.

[http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=64153]

TMT.
__________________

TMT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.