OCing a AM2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2006, 02:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default OCing a AM2

Hi everyone,
I want to look at overclocking my new (in 2 days, but not looking at OCing ASAP) PC. I dont want to hugely OC it to avoid ruining it. Maybe just 200Mhz for the CPU, and I have vTuner for my graphics card. Specs:
AMD 3200+ Socket AM2
Gigabyte 6600GT (apparently has some sort of fancy cooling, Silent Pipe II)
512MB DDR2-533 RAM
160GB SATA-II HDD
Gigabyte GA-M55plus-S3G Motherboard (http://ascent.co.nz/ProductSpecifica...?ItemID=346728)
Thinks thats all the important stuff...
Can you recommend some FSB/Multiplier speeds and some volts? (And if applicable RAM timings/OC speeds)
Thanks.
__________________

Zanjo is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

For 200mhtz you shouldn't need to up the voltage at all and the ram should be able to take it even if it is value ram.

You should have gotten DDR800 or low latency DDR667.

To up the frequency to 200mhtz - all you have to do is multiply the FSB times the multiplier. I think the 3200 (for 939 any way) is 200 x10 so if you want to OC it to a 3500+, all you have to do is change it to 220 x10 = 2.2Ghtz.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

So you think just changing the FSB to 220Mhz would work? I read in a article that i would need to change the ram speed if i changed the FSB otherwise the ram wouldnt support it, or would that only apply if i raised the FSB higher than 266Mhz? (on DDR2-533)
Zanjo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Err the ram , at least in my system, changes its own speed according to the FSB... its set up to be *2 from my FSB, but I can lower it or push it to *2.5~*4 from my FSB if im correct it should be same about you'r pc also, but don't quote me on this, check you'r BIOs.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Ya, like above - if you change the FSB it overclocks the memory along with the CPU.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Yep, but its not just randomly changing the speed of you'r ram, its multiplied by a specific value, it can be as I said *1.5 from you'r FSB or even *4 from you'r FSB (The ram multiplier)
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

if you want better performance adding another 512mb stick of RAM would be more noticeable than OCing
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Well of course, because adding another stick of ram will increase the overall bandwith flow, not just the MHz per cycle that the cpu does
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 05:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You should seriously get DDR2-800.... Boards and the processors are very buggy with odd number ram like 533... But you should easily be able to go from 200*10 to 220*10 with no voltage adjustments, might have to run a divider on the ram, but makesure the PCI, PCIe speeds are locked, and make sure you lower your LTD down, I have noticed they don't do it automatically, atleast on the MSI K9N Platinum.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.