oc'ing 9500 gt advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2011, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default oc'ing 9500 gt advice

Well I'm trying to hold off on buying a new graphics card due to my crappy psu...

I bought Black Ops when it came out and have recently increased the graphics to:

Resolution: 1680 x 1050 (max)
Fullscreen: Yes
AA: x2
Detail: High
Shadows: no
bullet impacts: yes
Shader Warmer: yes
screen refresh rate: 56 (lowest)
sync every frame: no
texture filtering: auto

After several hours of changing the settings around, this is the best I can get it to look without having an fps below 20. I wanted to increase my average fps a little so I downloaded EVGA Precision tool, since it is the one I've seen friends use before (and I know how to use it whereas Riva Tuner just confused me).

Normal:
Core Clock: 550
Shader Clock: 1375
Memory Clock: 500

So far:
Core Clock: 700
Shader Clock: 1750
Memory Clock: 560

My temperatures on full load normally are about 68-70, now they're 69-72.
My normal average fps is around 25, now it's around 30 (difficult to tell due to map changes..) which is a huge difference between choppy playing and smooth playing.
This is my first time overclocking, so I'm taking it very slowly (by 10).
From what I've read I'm supposed to keep going until the program (black ops) crashes or until I've hit a point that I want to reach. I don't really know what I'm supposed to do or how far I'm supposed to go...

Also, I don't really want to keep it overclocked all the time; only when playing black ops. Is it okay for the card to overclock it, play the game, then when I quit the game, to reset all the values (which is what I have been doing).
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

First off, I'm pleasantly surprised that you're able to get those clocks out of it. As far as your limit, just go until it starts artifacting or it gets too hot. And it's definitely OK to OC it for games and then bring it back down for normal messing around. You should just get a new GPU though
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

If you have some decent thermal paste, you can try removing your card's cooler, cleaning it good, and re-applying it using the good paste. It may shave a few off your top temps.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 04:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
If you have some decent thermal paste, you can try removing your card's cooler, cleaning it good, and re-applying it using the good paste. It may shave a few off your top temps.
Ya that would be a good bet.

IMHO, I went from using EVGA Precision to MSI Afterburner and Afterburner was a pleasant surprise because I was able to control the clocks with more precision (no pun intended) and Precision didn't give me voltage options while Afterburner did.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

Well, I took my case out of my desk (there's a swinging door that opens and shuts on it) and I was surprised to find that my intake fan in the front had an air filter (that is pretty crappy...took forever to shove it back in..) but it was covered with dust. After cleaning that, my temps dropped significantly :O

I also went back to playing Black Ops windowed, so that could also account for the temp differences but, when playing with no overclocking it is a constant 65 degrees Celsius, compared with the 68-70 temp from before...it turns out I can't go any further than I already have with those clock speeds without getting artifacts or crashing...so I guess I stopped at the right spot.

I have some Arctic Silver 5 that I used on my CPU a while back...would that work? I've never really taken anything off the gpu before...so if my temps are fine right now, I'd rather not mess with it. But I will look into it.
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

If your comp is in a cubby, GET IT OUT NOW! You are making it an oven in there, especially if you close the door to the cubby.

Have you tried blowing out the cooler on your card?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

Well there's no other place for it go to...the desk is cramped on the top, and I don't want to have it sitting in the middle of the room. I cut a hole in the back to allow for adequate exhaust and there's a slit in the bottom at the front to pull in air...it's the best I could do. Although, I do open the door sometimes.

When you say "blowing out the cooler" do you just mean, opening the case, and blowing on the fan? Because yes, I have done that.


(also, why does SpeedFan say all of my cores (0, 1, 2, 3) are around 35-40, then it says my overall CPU is 30..?)
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 12:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

I mean removing the card from your case and using compressed air to blow out the fan and the heatsink under the shroud (if it has a shroud). You should go ahead and blow out the cooler on your CPU while you are at it (but you can leave it mounted). You can get cans of compressed air at any office supply shop and Walmart.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 06:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: oc'ing 9500 gt advice

I have a regular air compressor, so I'll just use that (at a good distance away; it's powerful)
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6 Nubbleet Overclocking and Modding 8 06-05-2009 12:39 PM
Zalman 9500 csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-11-2008 07:50 AM
cpu cooler on 9500 pro burned-ati Overclocking and Modding 9 06-16-2005 11:22 PM
9500 pro burned-ati Overclocking and Modding 4 04-20-2005 09:53 PM
ati 9500 pro problem skater Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 05-18-2003 11:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.