OCing a 7600GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2007, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default OCing a 7600GT

Anybody want to give me a step to step guide on how to Over-Clock a 7600GT? I'm new with OCing so please give me all the details on what I need to do in order to keep my 7600GT as cool as possible.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

Sorry not hijacking your thread but this would also be very helpful for me too i have asus 7600gt

thanks and once again sorry
__________________

__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

I overclocked my old 7600GT, with ATI Tool. The way I did it, was find the max core, that it would overclock to, until artifacts show up...then I would just back it down like 10MHz to be safe. I would then do the same to the memory clock. Finding max until unstable, then just back it down 10MHz. You would check for stability, by either using the scan for artifacts feature on ATI Tool....or benchmark with 3dmark, and look out for artifacts. I've gotten mine up to 630/1700.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

cooling issues ??
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

No cooling issues. 53C idle/61C load.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

cool wil have to try it out and let you know how i go
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

Alright, I got the ATI Tool, now do I run it to find the max core?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

Genius~!!!
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Found it Peter, thanks!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: OCing a 7600GT

Crashed it, restarting now.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-18-2007 12:31 PM
OC'ing on an Abit KN9 board??? shan1784 Overclocking and Modding 0 06-12-2007 11:16 AM
7600gt to 8600gt worth it? xxdeadweightxx New Systems | Building and Buying 19 05-27-2007 04:19 AM
Computer completely froze (OC'ing) Nechen Overclocking and Modding 0 04-14-2007 07:54 PM
Vista / GTS OC'ing? BennyV04988 Overclocking and Modding 1 03-30-2007 11:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.