OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2009, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
[Judge]Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

First off, my specs.

The board is made by XFX.
My problem is, when in the BIOS, the option to change the FSB is there but it is 'grayed out'.
Now, I've read that people had to change their BIOS version to something other than the manufacturer's supported versions.
The BIOS version I have is not the most current, there is a P08 available from XFX's website. Here's where I run into my other problem. Every board I have ever updated the BIOS on, has been in an ISO format. Burn that to a disc and boot from it. Easy and simple. XFX's previous BIOS update was an ISO but in all of their wisdom, released the P08 as a BIN file. They also say to use their WinFlash utility to update the BIOS from windows, something that I was told NEVER to do. Soooooooo. How do I go about updating the BIOS with the BIN file they gave me? And will this even 'fix' the grayed out FSB?

Please and thank you!
__________________

[Judge]Iceman is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

My XFX 680i sli ocs fine.

You need to "unlink" the fsb to memory, then oc.

EDIT!

WTF, your boards a 680i with 780i chipset???
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

why is your cpu running @ 1.6ghz?
speedstepping?
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 09:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

Yup, thats why his multipliers x6
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
[Judge]Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
My XFX 680i sli ocs fine.

You need to "unlink" the fsb to memory, then oc.

EDIT!

WTF, your boards a 680i with 780i chipset???
I have no idea. Someone else I was talking to mentioned that as well. What does that mean in terms of good or bad? LOL

Ill unlink them and see what I can do.
[Judge]Iceman is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

Its just reading the chip wrong.

cpu-z does that with both my board and the father in-laws board.

mine shows as a 650i when its a 750i and his shows as a 750i when its a 650i
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
[Judge]Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

Ok, well after I unlinked them and started playing around, I bumped it in 300MHz increments. I'm up to 3.3GHz. Idle is ~35C and under load it capped out at ~52C. I ran a 15 minute stress test to see the temps I would approx get. I don't really want to get it any warmer than that. Does that sound about right, speed : temp ratio?
[Judge]Iceman is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 12:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

Quote:
Originally Posted by [Judge]Iceman View Post
Ok, well after I unlinked them and started playing around, I bumped it in 300MHz increments. I'm up to 3.3GHz. Idle is ~35C and under load it capped out at ~52C. I ran a 15 minute stress test to see the temps I would approx get. I don't really want to get it any warmer than that. Does that sound about right, speed : temp ratio?
3.3 is nothing to be shameful of.
thats a decent OC.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 12:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
[Judge]Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

Would there be any advantage to me dropping the multiplier down to eight and running the FSB at 400 so it is 1:1 with my RAM? The clock would be 3.2 which is still nice and I may see a nicer temp under load.
[Judge]Iceman is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 10:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: OCing with 680iLT / BIOS Q.

BUT is it stable. My 3.2 is90% stable till i really worked it ~ 12hrs prime, or smp folding
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo bios locked from OC'ing? IF06 System Upgrades 3 12-29-2008 09:59 AM
correlation between BIOS and chipset Jeroen1000 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 11-10-2008 07:07 PM
CMOS/ BIOS trouble shooting. Random Seeker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-15-2008 12:03 PM
Toshiba 'BIOS password glitch' Cunjo Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-17-2008 02:14 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.