For the OCers of TF - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2005, 09:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I think he's referring to the fact that AMD64s have better overall overclockability than K7s, specifically due to smaller process size as well as the fact that the AMD64 memory controllers can handle much higher memory frequencies than the northbridge on Socket As...as well as extended A64 latency options which helps specifically tweak memory for best results
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

So to my original question, will this work if i do it?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It should work if you do it correctly as I know the Bartons were popular for this mod...however it really isn't worth the hassle IMO since an unlocked multiplier isn't really all that special and not worth the risk of destroying a perfectly good chip
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 11:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Ho do you figure? My XP-M was easy to get to 2.53ghz... only took a week of hard Prime95 testing
I said 'especially the ram and getting it stable' meaning the RAM will go further, be more prone to staying stable. Socket A's your RAM won't go very far, 250MHz you'd be VERY lucky with 1gb of RAM to achieve not to mention you'd have to have aftermarket NB cooling and possibly a voltage mode to give that NB enough volts just to get the RAM stable up that high.

AMD64s as far as CPUs are concerned require the same kind of testing the socket A does.

But it really comes down to this....have you overclocked an AMD64? If not, then can you really argue based solely of things you've read or maybe a noobs mistake?

You know for a fact I've overclocked an XP-M and I can tell you my current machine is an AMD64 overclocked, CPU & RAM so I can tell you from experience the AMD64s have been rather smooth.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.