OCed P4????? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2009, 07:13 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: OCed P4?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by uneeb83 View Post
back to the question

I found out that the P4 Was indeed OCed. one of the shopkeepers told me that. it was originally somewhere about 2 but they didn't charge extra
How is that a question?
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: OCed P4?????

I think it was an answer.

What are they using to cool that chip? An overclock from 2 to 3.2ghz is pretty amazing. Did you run cpu-z to confirm the model of P4 that is actually in the board?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: OCed P4?????

But they can't overclock the chip, then sell it. The chip is overclocked via the BIOS, so if you moved the chip to a new PC, the overclock would no longer exist until the new PC's bios was edited to OC it. Sounds like someone just wants to swindle you into thinking you got a better deal.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:33 AM   #14 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: OCed P4?????

A P4 from 2GHz to 3.2GHz would have to be running on quite the motherboard and on at least watercooling. I would suggest you don't visit that shop again. They're toying with you.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: OCed P4?????

I disagree, P4s had deep pipe lines, they had a knack for doing some inhuman overclocking. If it was a prescott then I could see it going from 2 something to 3 something and just needing air, however they guy is pulling you leg. When you take a cpu out of the pc it looses the overclock, because you not actually changing the chip, all of the overclocking is done through the BIOS.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:56 AM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: OCed P4?????

Prescott never had a 2GHz stock model so it's impossible.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: OCed P4?????

Yea, I used to have a Prescott and it came stock at 2.8Ghz. The lowest they made was 2.4Ghz..I think.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: OCed P4?????

But you can drop the multi that far.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:22 PM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: OCed P4?????

Well that's not stock then. That's underclocked.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: OCed P4?????

Well yeah, but if the owner sold him a cpu that he claimed was 2ghz stock and that he oc'ed to 3.4ghz, then that would explain it. Chances are the guy threw out some random clock speed and told him it was overclocked. bleh. Kid got ripped off.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 260 core 216 worth it to upgrade? 8800 GTX comparison Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 86 12-04-2008 09:09 AM
never OC'ed before... need some guidance mark1413 Overclocking and Modding 4 12-16-2007 10:55 PM
nTune good for overclocking GPU? pinoy3000 Overclocking and Modding 18 08-26-2007 11:39 PM
Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 32 08-21-2007 02:31 AM
hwo do u know if u have oc'ed the video card too much veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 3 05-06-2007 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.