Oc'ed an Nvidia Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2006, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default Oc a Nvidia Card

Hey folks, for those who are new to overclocking their video cards, heres a quick guide to overclocking your Nvidia based video card. To start you have to make sure u have an nvidia core card (obviously), then (this guide is based off of windows xp o.s.) click the start button. Then click run and type in regedit, scroll down until you find NVIDIA Corporation, click global, then NVTweak, next move your cursor to the right and right click and make a new DWORD named "coolbits", next right click on coolbits and click "modify", then for value data put 3 (three), and make sure its a hexadecimal base, then you are done, exit the registry editor, and right click on your desktop, go to properties, click on settings tab, click on advanced, click on "model name of your video card" tab, then click on clock frequency settings.

Suggestion, to be on the safe side just find the auto overclock setting (Detect Optimal Frequencies) and make sure settings are on Performance (3D), and u can nudge the values a little higher if you are willing, then if you are satisfied click apply these settings at startup.

Easy ain't it =), have fun and good luck.

RepuLse is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

You can do it easier, without messing with the registry, with rivatuner.

Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

Use ATITool (the latest beta version). It has an artifact tester and a tester that will find your max core and ram speed. get the latest beta here:
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

I forgot about ATItool. Its pretty good. I really like its artifact tester.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

ummm this artifact thingy... can someone explain.

if it is still the same, it is not full screen. surely you can push it higher before artifacting if it only has to work on a small section of the screen, rather than the full screen that has much more rendering to do????
joshd is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

That artifact tester did NOT work for me. I was sitting there watching that fuzzy box artifact, and it kept running for like 2 more cycles after that.



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.