OCed fx-57 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2006, 08:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

It's too high for any K8 processor...memory controller is known to kick out once you hit 1.7vcore and you really don't wanna go above 1.6vcore unless you're doing it for benchmarking purposes

Especially considering how much vcore you're pumping through that for such a minimal overclocking...stock vcore is what, 1.35v? You're bumped it up 0.1v for every 100MHz which is a terrible frequency to vcore ratio...besides that you won't really feel a difference between 2.8 and 3.1 most likely

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati

man that would suck! 1000 dollar, cpu down the drane

burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04

very nice. hope it stays stable.
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Why are people scared because some others have fried there memory controller with there CPU at 1.7Vcore? I'm hitting 1.7Vcore with mine and no problem at all......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 10:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: OCed fx-57

Originally posted by fr34ky
Just recently oced my PC with a kinda custom watercooling system,
very happy with results.Got my fx-57 to 3.19ghz at 1.72v.Also my 7800gtx 512mb has a water heatsink with fan.Got that clocked with a 712mhz core and the memory clock at 2.1 ghz.its also 620/1850.my memory is at 3-4-4-8 which I wanna improve I would think I could.
Can we see some screen shots or something to proove the OC's?
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 10:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati

i would deffinetly leave it at 1.7v im not afraid of chips frying ive only fried 1 chip before it was a xp 2700. but anyways, 3.2ghz is very fast. you wouldnt see the performance decrease although it would lower. 3dmark01 will tell you, i mainly use that test as a cpu test now. crystalmark is also good.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 01:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771

That's proposterious.
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
fr34ky's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509

Iam tyring to find a site with better quality but cant figure why it is doing that.
fr34ky is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:51 AM   #19 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

Rich ***...
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 07:40 AM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Can't get it stable at lower voltage?

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.