OC'd in XP... not in 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2010, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default OC'd in XP... not in 7

ok I am kind of a n00b when it comes to over clocking so here is my question for ya. I have my CPU over clocked to 3.74 GHz the bios and XP (control panel and CPU-Z) tell me I am, when I boot up into windows 7, which is on a separate HDD, it says its at stock clock speeds 3.00 GHz according to the control panel and CPU-Z. Basically I am wondering can I get my CPU back up to 3.74 in 7 or is it already and its just not showing up as 3.74? my MOBO is an ASUS P5Q-E and my CPU is an intel dual core E8400. Need an more info let me know and i'll do my best to answer lol
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: OC'd in XP... not in 7

post up some cpu-z screenshots so we can see them.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: OC'd in XP... not in 7

hmm after lookin at the screen shots im thinkin I misinformed you lol, maybe I have had it screwed up for a while cause CPU-Z says 3.00GHz in XP and 7 only the system properties says 3.74... 1st is CPU-7 in windows 7, 2nd is CPU-Z in XP then system properties in XP
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CPU-7.JPG (56.3 KB, 57 views)
File Type: jpg CPU-XP.JPG (53.4 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg System properties XP.JPG (51.0 KB, 57 views)
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: OC'd in XP... not in 7

Looks like you have Intel SpeedStep or whatever enabled. That causes he CPU to lower it's multiplier, when in idle, or very little CPU resources are being used. If you want to change that, go through the BIOS and change it, or change your Power Options to Performance, instead of balanced.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 08:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: OC'd in XP... not in 7

Disable Intel SpeedStep and the Cx Functions
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: OC'd in XP... not in 7

found em in the bios and turned em off also switched over to performance from balanced under the control panel and problem solved thanks guys
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower! King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 49 05-11-2009 11:42 PM
Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps Inserity Overclocking and Modding 14 12-18-2008 01:44 AM
Is 43* hot for a slight OC'd Quad?? (kind of long) Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 21 10-29-2008 02:03 PM
Galaxy 8800gt OCd Drivers ???? chr_mar System Upgrades 4 03-18-2008 01:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.