OCd X24200+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 03:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default OCd X24200+

I just got into overclocking, and as a complete beginner, I've currently got my AMD X2 4200+ 2.2GHz OCd to 2.42GHz.

I've got my FSB speed at 220MHz and my multiplyer at 11. The CPU is at 1.500v. It idles at about 36c, and I just checked it while playing Call of Duty 2 at the highest settings and it was hovering around 50c. Are these safe settings to be running right now? I haven't touched the RAM or the VGA yet, as I'm still not quite sure how to tweak them.

Also, my BIOS will not let me raise the CPU voltage past 1.675. I'm assuming this is a kind of safety feature, but would I have to raise it any higher than 1.675?

Again, I am completely new to OCing, but I'm doing my best to get into by reading tutorials and articles online etc..
__________________

Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 03:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

1.7vcore can fry the memory controller so that yes I suppose it is a safety precaution. Assuming you have not touched the RAM, you have to put it on a divider so that it doesn't interfere with stability. 1.5 for a 200MHz increase seems ridiculous
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 03:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

although those temps are pretty good
as long as there accurate
also how satble is it running at those speeds and voltages
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default

What is the best way for testing stability? I'm also fairly certain the temperature readings are accurate, becuase I'm running CPU temp monitor software that came with my mobo (Asus A8N-SLI), and I have a monitor on the CPU heatsink which is displayed on the front of the case. The two temperatures are fairly consistant.

Also, gaara, again I am a very beginner, so I am not sure what you mean by putting the RAM on a divider.

Thanks guys.

EDIT: I realized in my first post I said my 4200+ came clocked at 2.0GHz, it was originally 2.2GHz. Not sure how I made that mistake...
Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 11:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

One of the best ways of testing for stability is to use a program called Prime95, all you need to do is download it

open it up ---> click on options ---> torture test ---> then click ok / go

If your system is stable, it should run prime95 through a minimum 7 hours without any errors, therefore I reccomend you put prime on when you sleep so you don't have to wait 7 hours
Willeh is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Lower the HyperTransport rate from 1000MHz to 800 or 600MHz, if you want to overclock more.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
Lower the HyperTransport rate from 1000MHz to 800 or 600MHz, if you want to overclock more.
I've got a few options under the hypertransport speed menu. 1x,2x,3x,4x,5x, and auto. Which option should I choose to achieve this?

I'm also looking into the Thermaltake Venus 12 CPU fan...thoughts?
Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Lower to 4x. Lower to 3x if you get past 250FSB speed
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 01:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default

I just lowered it to 4x, but as soon as I pass 220MHz FSB, the system won't boot. It boots fine at 220MHz/1.500v, but even with a 1.600v it still will not boot correctly at 221 MHz.

Why is this?
Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Umm, I suggest you research more before you continue overclocking. At the rate you're going, your CPU will be a smoldering pile of silicon burning a neat hole through your mobo in a week or less.

Lower your voltages, all the way back to 1.4V, before we have to listen to you complaining about killing your CPU. I'm not being funny, see this as very good advice!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.