OC'd from 1.8Ghz to 2.4Ghz Can I go higher ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 09:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default OC'd from 1.8Ghz to 2.4Ghz Can I go higher ???

Ive had my system oc'd at 2.4Ghz about 34% increase for about a month now with no problems.i wanted to know if there is a limit to how much i can OC because for some reason i cant seem to get it stable over 2.4Ghz.Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.thanks







__________________

__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Have you tried lowering your ram multiplier? to make it run slower? I like to take ram out of the equation by turning it down.

Oh nevermind I see you did

Try giving your processor more voltage if your temps are good, 1.4 volt is stock, I would be pushing 1.75volts thru that processor, and ima OC'ing wimp right now.

Also you can try changing the HyperTransport speed, nubius thinks that it's unstable above 2500 for anyone, which means I broke a world record for 290*5*2 = 2900
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well you pretty much answered your own question dude. "I cant get it stable over 2.4GHz"....what else would you need to know?

Don't know why people ask if they can OC higher, every system and CPU is different, so only you can determine that.

I can tell you this though, with your RAM at 219MHz and you keeping the ras to cas and ras precharge, that is what would give you instabilities going beyond that.

You need to loosen those up if you are gonna want the RAM to follow up beyond 219

Quote:
nubius thinks that it's unstable above 2500 for anyone, which means I broke a world record for 290*5*2 = 2900
No I said it's never recommended. You'd better check to make sure your board didn't underclock that HT, because the highest I saw someone do was 2400 and that was really hard, a highly doubt yours would want to jump up 900 beyond the max and have no problems with it
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

Nubius where can i get info on loosening ram timings, i dont really know how to do that.
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

2.5-2-2-7 seems tight, maybe you can loosen it to 2.5-3-3-8 and see how you do

oh, and that winchester needs more voltage!
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius


You need to loosen those up if you are gonna want the RAM to follow up beyond 219

No I said it's never recommended. You'd better check to make sure your board didn't underclock that HT, because the highest I saw someone do was 2400 and that was really hard, a highly doubt yours would want to jump up 900 beyond the max and have no problems with it
How Can I make sure my board didnt underclock it, BIOS says 1000mhz and I had it at 290FSB
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

When its CPU/11 i dont think you can go any farther, because 5 differnt systems ive seen with cpu/11 couldnt go any farther with out better ram or better timings
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
How Can I make sure my board didnt underclock it, BIOS says 1000mhz and I had it at 290FSB
The spot where it says 1000MHz, isn't where it'd be changed. You gotta look for an option that says 'HTT Link speed Multiplier" or something along those lines, if it's set to 5x then I honestly don't know what to say because as far as everything I've read and people talked to, an AMD64 system isn't like a socket A where you can go beyond the 400FSB, going above the 2000HTT limit in AMD64 is just never recommended....

If yours is set to 4x or even 3x, then you can assume yours isn't overclocked, not 900MHz over that is.

Quote:
When its CPU/11 i dont think you can go any farther, because 5 differnt systems ive seen with cpu/11 couldnt go any farther with out better ram or better timings
CPU/11 doesn't mean anything like that at all. It's just because he has his CPU at 262 and has it split for the RAM to be quite a bit lower.

Socom - There is no guide to doing it dude, you just .....'loosen' em lol, I don't really know how to explain it to you any more. You got 2.5-2-2-7 and the SPD table at 217MHz says 2.5-4-3-9, those are really lose timings, so I don't think you'd need to quite do that, but you should go into the BIOS and atleast change it to 2.5-3-3-7 and then make sure your dimm voltage is like 2.8 or 2.9v and then you can push that rim a little bit further more than likely.

For the CPU, you definitely need to add a tad more vcore if you're still on stock and have OC'd it 600MHz as is
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Curious to why 5 system's had that and mine does to and we cant get any higher.... Me and all my friends have tryed to go higher but its impossible... oh well just ignore me -.-
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

i think you can go higher. depending on you cooling you can prolly take it faster, because it says you have pc3500 ram. is that right? if so lower the timings and you shoudl be fine cause you can go higher than 200mhz on the FSB. no worries there. plus, jump that voltage boy. put it at liek 1.75 or something and it should stable it out better so you can go higher. where as the HTT is concerned there you get me lost lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.