Oc Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2006, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Sakeri
Default Oc Ram

So yeah, I know nothing about oc'ing.. from the reviews this sounds like really good ram though

Patriot 2GB (2x1) DDR2-667
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820220095

I was wondering if I should just get corsair ddr2-800, which is obviously more money, or this and oc it?
__________________

Sakeri is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

How far are you overclocking? Which CPU?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Sakeri
Default

as little as possible... x2 3800
Sakeri is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

err... im pretty sure ddr2 is for the conroe build... you should be looking at ddr dual channel. if you dont plan on taking your 3800+ to the max, just get some ddr400/pc3200. for extreme oc'ing get ddr500/pc4000.

i'm looking to get rid of my ddr400 if your interested

you should give us the rest of your specs. u got am2 or 939pin mobo?
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

yeah if it's AM2 then go w/ just cheap value ram because unless you're planning on OCing a decent amount it'll just be a waste of your money.

IMO you should either get that ram and OC the 3800x2 to 2.6+ or so. Otherwise get cheap value ram and use the extra money saved on ram to get a 4200x2 or something.

what do you mean by OCing "as little as possible"? i'm sorry but that doesn't sound like a good idea at all. if you OC then don't half-(you know) it because it's just waste of time, money and effort.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.