OC Question Core i7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Default OC Question Core i7

Hey folks,
I was wondering, as I am not familiar with overclocking the new core i7 if I would need any special RAM or Mainboard, at the moment I was thinking of the following:

2* A-DATA XPG G Series 6gb DDR3-1600
1* MSI X58 Pro, X58

will I have any problems with those components?


Thanks in advance
-Michael
__________________

Michael_R. is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

I've seen a lot of complaints with the MSI X58. I'd recommend an ASUS P6T.

I'm not really a fan of A-DATA RAM, but I know others that use that same stuff with no problems. If it were me, I'd go with G.Skill, OCZ, or Corsair.

Also, I hope you're not planning on getting 2x6GB RAM are you? o.O 6GB is plenty for pretty much everyone, unless you're one of the rare exceptions that does huge amounts of encoding or rendering or something.

Also remember that the more RAM sticks you have, the harder it is to OC them.

You'll probably want a good cooler too, like the Xigmatek Rifle.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

I have the evga x58 and it is great for overclocking! I love it. Plus it has awesome customer service and lifetime warranty

I would go with G.skill for your ram. I've never heard of anybody getting good overclocks with a-data ram. a-data is the budget ram in my eyes.

Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory here is a great set of 6GB, you don't need anymore than that
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 06:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

as I will be using it for 3D creation, I definetely will need the 12gb of RAM

thanks for the advice regarding the MB, will the standard P6T do the job?

Furthermore I googled a few reviews of the a-data ram and they said that it will work just fine for OC, maybe I should mention that I will not do any extreme OC.
Michael_R. is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 10:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

How big of scenes are you talking? What programs? Maya, 3DS Max? I work in 3D too and I have never created anything that needed 12GB of ram.

I would go with the better set of ram I recommended because it will be much faster which will help in your 3D work. Newegg.com - G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory here is a slightly cheaper set. That is the one I have.

P6T will do the job but I am not a fan of asus. I have heard they don't have very good customer support and EVGA has excellent customer support.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

Yea, there is no need for 12Gb of ram for anyone. Maybe 8Gb max, if you're doing HD Rendering and Auto Cad.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

actually I know what I do, and regarding using multi million polygon models in zBrush and Mudbox, I definetely have a use for it =)

one more question, will the asus p6t be enough or do the deluxe or higher versions make more sense?
Michael_R. is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

The Deluxe versions actually have less features compared to the regular version. So you're better off the the normal P6T.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 11:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

thanks.

how strong should my PSU be together with a gtx 260?
Michael_R. is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 01:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: OC Question Core i7

You don't need a real powerful one. Something like this would do:
Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling S61EPS 610W Continuous @ 40°C EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New build Question (Core 2 Duo) Bouchane System Upgrades 22 06-13-2008 06:27 AM
Core Security Publishes Apple iCal Vulnerabilities After Apple Fails To Patch Puddle Jumper Apple and Mac 0 05-22-2008 09:19 PM
Temp question XDRoX Overclocking and Modding 8 04-22-2008 09:19 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.