OC question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2009, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default OC question

Ok, so as you can see in my sig i have an opteron 170. I increased voltage to about 1.52v and got it past 3ghz, but i'm keeping it at 3ghz for now. The memory is a poor overclocker so i had it set initially to 100mhz, and with the increaed FSB @ 300, it was running at 150mhz. I calculated that if i set the memory to 133mhz, it should be 200mhz, which is its stock speed. My memory can go upto 225mhz. Anyways, when i set it to 133mhz, it doesn't post. Very strange. Its not even an overclock... Up to 280 or 290 FSB, i can bring the memory speed up, but at 300FSB i can't increase memory speed back up to stock speeds. My options for ram speed is 100, 133, 166, 200 (stock), and higher.

Why won't my memory go back to stock speeds? Changing HT link between 4 and 3 doesn't help. I didn't touch the nF4 voltage since i don't really know what that does. Its set to 1.5v.

So if someone could enlighten me please? Much appreciated!
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: OC question

Had a real scare today. Thought i fried my mobo, lol. And the country i'm currently residing in there are no spare parts for AMD systems, so if it did fry, i'd need to get a new mobo+cpu+ram which i can't afford right now! but... FEWF!

But i am still baffled why i can't bring my memory up to stock speeds! I decided to raise the nF4 voltage as i don't think there's anything else that should be holding me back. I put it up to 1.65, and nothing happened. 1.75 and the computer turned off! I reset the CMOS, and yet nothing happened! Computer refuses to turn on! yikes! I took out the battery for a few minutes, replaced it, and it worked again.. thank god! Do you guys think increasing ram voltage will help? nothing reasonable seems to work.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: OC question

Yea, make sure the mobo is giving the RAM the proper voltage and if the ram is running fast than rated, loosen the timing and increase the voltage.

You have to loosen the timings on the ram when ocing theres no way around it.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: OC question

That might help. But, with your location I would be leary of pushing anything too far. Unless you have a backup computer. WTF are you doing down there?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: OC question

Quote:
if the ram is running fast than rated, loosen the timing and increase the voltage.
Thats the thing, its not running faster than rated, i'm just trying to get it to run at STOCK speeds, which it refuses. When the FSB is at 280 or 290even, its fine. But once it hits 300, i can't change it from 100mhz (overclocked to 150mhz, 50mhz slower than stock). I'll try increasing voltage anyways to see what happens.

Quote:
WTF are you doing down there?
down there? lol, what are you talkin about?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: OC question

Well everything is down from Sweden. I looked up your post ip location.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: OC question

ahh lol, very nice. I live here, hehe Attending school here, then maybe off to another country after i graduate! 4th year pharmacy student.

Anyways, Barca vs. Real is well into the 2nd half. I'll post updates on my memory situation once i get back and fiddle some more. Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: OC question

i had no luck. i'll just keep my modest overclock of 2.6ghz @ stock voltages... its good enough for my current use.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rivatuner Question Drewser Overclocking and Modding 2 11-28-2007 03:40 PM
New computer, tell me what you think! and one little question too rgoldberg1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-12-2007 10:19 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.