oc q6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2007, 01:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to Wog2000
Default Re: oc q6600

Just above 3.2GHz. I am still iffy on my RAM settings, I followed the guide but some of the settings listed where not the same. I want to hit 3.6 as Veedubfreak lists but i think it will take a lot more reading and tweeking aka time to get their.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 G0|Thermalright ULTRA-120|Diamond HD 2900 XT 1GB GDDR4|4x2gig Ram|Vista Ultimate 64-bit|PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad (Red)|4x WD Caviar SE16 750GB SATA II|Sony NEC Optiarc SuperMulti SATA|Cooler Master Stacker 830 w/7-120mm case fans|Samsung 226BW|G15 Keyboard|Lachasis Mouse|Altec Lansing FX5051|TrippLite UPS
Wog2000 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 08:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 31
Send a message via MSN to warlockben
Default Re: oc q6600

hi i did a cold start today i shutdown my pc all day
when i booted it up the cpu temp was 27c whit in 90 seconds it was 64c
__________________

warlockben is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 08:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: oc q6600

Are you sure you mounted your HSF correctly and are using a good thermal paste?
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 09:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: oc q6600

I have my Q6600 at 3GHz with the same heatsink, CNPS9500 led.
My idle temps are at 31C, give or take 1 degree. You should use speed fan to check your temperatures but just make sure that you are bumping the speed fans settings up by 15C .. some sort of program error. But once you change it than it's all good. Take the side panel off you case and don't be scared to play around or have someone else look at it. The heatsink is not the best but it should allow you to get to 3GHz. I wouldn't go higher though because the performance gain is not worth ruining your CPU due to heat.
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 04:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 31
Send a message via MSN to warlockben
Default Re: oc q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdawg View Post
Are you sure you mounted your HSF correctly and are using a good thermal paste?
iam useing artic silver
warlockben is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: oc q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlockben View Post
iam useing artic silver
Have you tried reseating it yet? Sometimes thats all it takes. It is possible that when you seated it the first time, there was a pocket of air in the paste, or an area of the IHS didn't get artic silver. A million things can go wrong. :P

Also, the BIOS is known to show the temperatures higher than they'd actually be... but still, there's something wrong if its showing 70c, even for the BIOS.

Sorry for not reading your post carefully enough in the beginning, I now see that you have a decent after market cooler.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wog2000
Thanks for the link Lazer Viking, I used the guide and am now stable @ 3447 MHz!
Hehe, don't thank me, thank Google! :]
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 08:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 31
Send a message via MSN to warlockben
Default Re: oc q6600

hi guys i took it in do you all know what it was .
when i got my Q6600 installed the tec put the bracet the wrong way and the fan was backwards and the fan on the side panle was backwards .
so how can this guy be a tec. so now iam at cpu 47 c thats alot bette then over 60 c
and im oc 1333 3.00GHz well thak all of you for the help .
do you guys thing i can oc it more then 3.00GHz or should i stay at that to be safe.
warlockben is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: oc q6600

he can be a tech because assigning the name "tech" doesnt make him an expert.
lol...apparently it doesnt even mean he knows what he is doing.

if i washed dogs all day i could be called a "canine cleanliness tech".
no offens to any c.c.t.'s out there lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-16-2007, 02:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: oc q6600

Hahaha. Just goes to show you... "If you want the job done right..." If it was me right now I'd be so completely suspect of the whole thing I'd jsut re-do the whole thing over! Haha, but that's just me.
__________________

__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.