OC Pentium 75 MHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default OC Pentium 75 MHz

I have an old Packard Bell monster of a computer in my attic; just want to experiment with it since there's no way I can possibly use it. I'm pretty sure its NOT an ATX board (bought in 1995), so any way to overclock it?
__________________

strategist333 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Well, check your jumper settings, and see if you can overclock it that way. If not, try increasing your voltage to the cpu. Also, check your bios, but i'm pretty sure the bios is way outdated
__________________

duester is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

On a board that low you are going to have control over the fsb AND multi, complete cntrol. There are some jumpers on your board that you have to set, set them to multiplier levels and whatnot.
Him is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

Anyway to do that if I don't have the manual (duh)?
strategist333 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Ummmm....overclocking is never mentioned in a manual!! It voids your waranty and companies don't condone it. Your motherboard should have little letters where jumpers could be placed. One may say 33Mhz fsb, the other 66Mhz fsb. You can change that simply by changing the jumper setting, by moving the jumper on the 33Mhz fsb to the setting on the motherboard that indicates 66Mhz fsb
duester is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You just have to know. Look at the board, find all the jumpers, there are jumper maps on the board itself that tell you what the multiplier settings are and what the FSB settings are. you just have to do some looking around on it. It will really be, like all OCing, trial and error.
Him is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 02:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
It voids your waranty and companies don't condone it.
It doesn't void the warranty. AMD don't lock the jumper on the FX series for you to get extreme speeds. On the AMD 64 range they let you decrease your jumper so you can get better memory bandwidth when overclocking (if you can't get the CPU very high.)

On my graphics card, it says in large font extreme overclocking, on the front.

There is software included with my motherboard for me to overclock in windows if I feel the need.

Overclocking is greeted hapily.

Compamies like DELL hate overclocking, so they make it impossible to do it. (with out hardware mods.)


If it doesn't boot, take out the battery leave it for about 15minutes to clear compltly (doubt there would be a jumper to do it quickly.) and don't go so far next time.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Overclocking is greeted hapily.
Actually it's not greeted happily. They say you can do it, and tell you to go for it, but they dont blatently tell you that it voids the warranty. i mean, it's in there, just in the fine print. Have you ever read the return policy on Newegg or ZZF?

Quote:
Overclocking or improper installation of CPU fans will cause CPUs to chip or burn. All chipped and burnt CPUs are considered physically damaged and are not eligible for replacement or refund.
Him is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

I successfully got it up to 120 MHz. Turns out there's about 50 places where jumpers can be put (none fo them say ANYTHING about FSB), and I just messed with some close to the CPU . A lot easier than I thought, especially since I guessed. I found out 133 MHz, ran Memtest on it, and then probably burned out some component on my floppy drive and it won't read any more floppies . So then I lowered it down to 120 MHz (133 Mhz booted once and then wouldn't boot again), and now I have a less slow computer.

Oh yeah, I found out how to make it 33 Mhz... who would downclock a P75????
strategist333 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

you should reapply some more compound to the CPU.

I had a 120mhz that I oc'd to 133mhz and it runs soo cool, no fan. It is just a passive heatsink. But i added a new application of some compound that I got from radioshack.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.