OC Novice - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2011, 11:27 AM   #41 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: OC Novice

I didn't need all the pictures of your bios. From what I see most of the settings I told you to change are present.

If you can't find a setting tell me what it is and I'll try to tell you where to look. I'm not going to search through all your pictures for all the settings, you have to do that part.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 06:01 PM   #42 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

Here are some screens of my particular BiOS



The white highlighted word is what section the picture is from and what it says when clicked. I am really looking forward to getting my machine running faster. When the pc starts and goes thru windows it says Memory is at 1333mHz but it is supposed to be 1600mHz is this something we can tweak in BiOS?
__________________

DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-05-2011, 06:03 PM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

Here is the second set of pics. I tookl a shot of every screen so you can see what options are available to tweak.


DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 12:21 PM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Cool Re: OC Novice

Hey guys sorry its been a minute we have been super busy, we got nominated for Outstanding Online Retailer by AVN and chosen as one of the Top 50 Adult Retailers in the Business!!

I looked at the list and wanted to put an x by what I did not have in my BiOS that is on the list
>>>>>>>>>Go to the Bios O.N.E. Settings:

Overclocking Navigator - Manual Overclock

You want to adjust the settings below, your mobo may or may not have them all. They should all be located in your bios, you may have to look around a little. If you can't find a setting let me know and I'll try to locate it for you if possible.

CPU Ratio Setting - 20
Intel Speedstep - Disabled
X Intel Turbo Mode - Disabled
X Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode - Enabled
X BCLK Frequency - 200
DRAM Frequency - 1066
X QPI Frequency - Auto
DRAM Timing Control - Set these to latencies specified by the Manufacturer
X CPU Differential Amplitude - not sure, I think the higher the value, the smoother or cleaner the voltage signal will be. I would leave at Auto for now

X CPU Clock Skew - Auto
CPU Voltage Mode - Fixed Voltage - 1.325 (this may need to go up but we really want it around the 1.30 - 1.325 range)

X IMC Voltage - 1.3v (This is the Internal Memory Controller Voltage, because your using 8GB's and I'm assuming you have a 4x2GB setup, you'll probably need to set this higher than a 2x2GB setup. I would try 1.3v and maybe we can lower it.)

X CPU PLL - Auto (we'll raise this if we have errors and adjusting the CPU volts has no effect)

X PCH Voltage - Auto (Southbridge Voltage)
X Load Line Calibration - Enabled
X CPU Spread Spectrum - Auto
X PCIE Spread Spectrum - Auto

Advanced
CPU Configuration

CPU Ratio Setting - 20
C1E Support - Disabled
Hardware Prefetcher - Enabled
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetcher - Enabled
Max CPUID - Disabled
Intel Virtualization Tech - Unless your using a program like Virtual PC you can Disable this.
CPU TM Function - Disabled
Execute Disable Bit - Enabled
Intel HT Technology - Enabled
Active Processor Cores - All
A20M - Disabled
Intel Speedstep Tech - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode Tech - Disabled
Intel C-State Tech - Disabled
DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 12:31 PM   #45 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I didn't need all the pictures of your bios. From what I see most of the settings I told you to change are present. If you can't find a setting tell me what it is and I'll try to tell you where to look. I'm not going to search through all your pictures for all the settings, you have to do that part.
I wasn't wanting you do all the work for me LOL So I posted the above settings that I could not find anywhere in the BiOS
DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 07:38 PM   #46 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: OC Novice

I'll try to go through these sometime tomorrow.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-22-2011, 10:34 AM   #47 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

I have a question about the speedstep part of the OC is that what causes me to have to move the mouse to make the computer run faster by the cpu boosting itself? I found if I wiggle the mouse pages load faster and programs too.
DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-23-2011, 10:40 AM   #48 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: OC Novice

That mouse has nothing to do with the OC.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novice OCer MindoverMaster Overclocking and Modding 81 06-25-2011 04:01 AM
Novice.........Help please thescout Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-20-2010 03:28 PM
NOVICE..........HELP thescout Microsoft Windows and Software 17 12-15-2010 10:23 AM
Need help regarding RAM! Please! (Novice) Mounce System Upgrades 3 04-22-2009 11:39 PM
Novice Needs Help :) d3nd3 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 07-03-2008 01:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.