OC Novice - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2011, 08:14 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

I have a rare muscular disease that turns my muscles to bone called FOP and I only have arm movement from elbows down I cant move my hips, knees or ankles, my neck, shoulders and jaw is also frozen in place so I need something I can reach easily
__________________

DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-02-2011, 08:18 PM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: OC Novice

Sorry to hear that, mate. Couldn't you just get a USB hub?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-02-2011, 08:23 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: OC Novice

sitting in a chair I would think the top of the case would be the closest part to you. It seems like you would have to bend over to use the other cases? But to be honest a case is a personal item and only you will know what you like or need.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 12:14 AM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

I have to stand at my computer anytime I want to use it because otherwise I couldnt do much by myself. I have my case sitting on an L on a office desk so it is high enough for me to reach the controls and the USB ports. I will take a picture of my office setup so you have an idea what I am talking about. With the new case it should be alot cooler with 5 120mm fans and 1 80mm plus the big TX3 CPU cooler setup.
DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 09:29 AM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

OK I got my case installed with 3 Cooler Master 90CFM fans Top, Front and Bottom as well as rear stock location.

Definitely a lot cooler under max load I ran Linx and this is the screen shot of the temps
DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 10:10 AM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: OC Novice

That is a lot better, mate!
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 12:00 PM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

Now I just have to figure out what to change to OC
DallasNovelty is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:07 PM   #38 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: OC Novice

Go to the Bios O.N.E. Settings:

Overclocking Navigator - Manual Overclock

You want to adjust the settings below, your mobo may or may not have them all. They should all be located in your bios, you may have to look around a little. If you can't find a setting let me know and I'll try to locate it for you if possible.

CPU Ratio Setting - 20
Intel Speedstep - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode - Disabled
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode - Enabled
BCLK Frequency - 200
DRAM Frequency - 1066
QPI Frequency - Auto
DRAM Timing Control - Set these to latencies specified by the Manufacturer
CPU Differential Amplitude - not sure, I think the higher the value, the smoother or cleaner the voltage signal will be. I would leave at Auto for now

CPU Clock Skew - Auto
CPU Voltage Mode - Fixed Voltage - 1.325 (this may need to go up but we really want it around the 1.30 - 1.325 range)

IMC Voltage - 1.3v (This is the Internal Memory Controller Voltage, because your using 8GB's and I'm assuming you have a 4x2GB setup, you'll probably need to set this higher than a 2x2GB setup. I would try 1.3v and maybe we can lower it.)

CPU PLL - Auto (we'll raise this if we have errors and adjusting the CPU volts has no effect)

PCH Voltage - Auto (Southbridge Voltage)
Load Line Calibration - Enabled
CPU Spread Spectrum - Auto
PCIE Spread Spectrum - Auto

Advanced
CPU Configuration

CPU Ratio Setting - 20
C1E Support - Disabled
Hardware Prefetcher - Enabled
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetcher - Enabled
Max CPUID - Disabled
Intel Virtualization Tech - Unless your using a program like Virtual PC you can Disable this.
CPU TM Function - Disabled
Execute Disable Bit - Enabled
Intel HT Technology - Enabled
Active Processor Cores - All
A20M - Disabled
Intel Speedstep Tech - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode Tech - Disabled
Intel C-State Tech - Disabled
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 09:43 PM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: OC Novice

Look in the items that have a ">" on the left of them. That will give you more options, if you didn't do so already.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 10:03 PM   #40 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to DallasNovelty
Default Re: OC Novice

I am running 2 x 4gb sticks of XM3 1600mHz and 2 x 2gb sticks of XM3 1600mHz memory sticks
__________________

DallasNovelty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novice OCer MindoverMaster Overclocking and Modding 81 06-25-2011 04:01 AM
Novice.........Help please thescout Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-20-2010 03:28 PM
NOVICE..........HELP thescout Microsoft Windows and Software 17 12-15-2010 10:23 AM
Need help regarding RAM! Please! (Novice) Mounce System Upgrades 3 04-22-2009 11:39 PM
Novice Needs Help :) d3nd3 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 07-03-2008 01:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.