OC not taking? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2007, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default OC not taking?

I disabled everything I needed to. An up'ed the FSB 400 (40Mhz). Rebooted an it wont take.
I get this message on the boot up.

Warning Now system is in Safe Mode
Please reset CPU or Memory Frequency in the Cmos Setup.

An when I boot into Vista an look at my CPUZ, It take's nothing.

I also seen the CPU Multiplier was only set a 8x, An I put it up to 10. However on a overclocking site I read where they done a E6600 they had it at 11?



I'm doing it on, a E6700 / eVGA 680i, running window's Vista 64 bit.

Idea's? Thank's for the help.
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Temp's are fine by the way. 51C in bios. (Have a Zelman 9500 on it.)
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

umm... 400 fsb is kinda high..... stock is 266... soo..... try 300 or something,,, 400 fsb is 3.6 ghz

and 51 is not normal... i'm at 3.1ghz and bios says 34
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Weird. Well it say's the min I can put is 400. An max 2500.

I have AS5 on it. It seem's to be fine.
augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm, havent done any 680i overclockin' so i may be misinformed :-x ... and didnt read you had an e6700 either.. but that temp is still pretty high
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

This is the guide I went off of.

http://pc.ign.com/articles/747/747606p1.html

The only thing I did they didn't say was after nothing would post, I seen my CPU Multi was only at 8x when his was at 11, An mine say's max 10, Which I set.
He had a 6600, Which I thought max for that was 9.9? Eh.
augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

An I did change my voltage as it said to 1.45 on the core. So I'm shure that's where my heat temp's are coming from.
augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

I'm thinking that 400 is setting it there at that speed on the fsb, An too raise it say 40 MHz, I need to add it to the pior 1066 to take effect an it's just saying 400 FSB is the lowest and 2,500 FSB is the highest. ? An I've been reading over at eVGA's forum's, An alot of people are seeing temp's of 40 - 60 (Roughly around 50 like me) on their E6700.
augest is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Ok that's what I was doing wrong, I wasn't posting 1066 + my oc.. I've got it up to 3065 MHz (Or 3.06 Ghz). At 10x. I'm happy with that for now, I'd like to get it to what my computer is, Which is at 3.5.

I'd still like to see opinion's though, Mostly from other's that have this board an cpu.

Thank's for your help though!
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.