OC Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default OC Issue

So i recently tried OCing my rig. I went into the BIOS, and increased the FSB from 333mhz to 350mhz. It posted and started windows, however in CPUZ it did not show an overclock, either in the CPU speed, or in fsb. It still showed 2.66ghz and 333fsb. I then restarted and went back into BIOS only to find the fsb supposedly still at 350mhz leaving me completely stumped. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: OC Issue

intels equivalent to AMD cool "n" quiet could be kicking in, disable it in the BIOS
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: OC Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
intels equivalent to AMD cool "n" quiet could be kicking in, disable it in the BIOS
which is called?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: OC Issue

Speedstep
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: OC Issue

yep, EIST is disabled, same problem....
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC Issue

Since you are using the ds3 board, make sure that it didnt "disable" overclocking. It will still show your overclocking numbers, but not actually have them enabled. Its a failsafe setup with the dual bios on the gigabyte boards.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: OC Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Since you are using the ds3 board, make sure that it didnt "disable" overclocking. It will still show your overclocking numbers, but not actually have them enabled. Its a failsafe setup with the dual bios on the gigabyte boards.
thanks, i was thinking it was something like that. how do i "enable" OCing then? I didn't see any setting in the BIOS.
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC Issue

ITs in the advanced options, i dont remember offhand. If i recall correctly though its in the same set of options where you set the FSB, near the top.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: OC Issue

no luck, it seems as if everything is in order, but i guess im missing something...
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: OC Issue

After you save the settings in the BIOS and reboot, does it turn on for a second, then turn off, then turn back on? If it does that, it is resetting itself, because it couldn't boot at the settings you had it at.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BioShock widescreen issue maroon1 PC Gaming 22 10-08-2007 06:44 PM
Vista, Lost Planet, and 8800GTS issue. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-30-2007 05:15 PM
Sound Issue Dieo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 07-13-2007 03:19 PM
TV Card issue AntonOle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-17-2007 08:31 AM
Weird IE7 Issue reubix Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-02-2007 02:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.