On the OC highway - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default On the OC highway

OK, so I'm an overclocking n00b. No shame in that, provided I'm willing to change it... and I am.

I'm starting to overclock my 3200. Why? 'Casue I don't have the dinero to buy a better CPU right now. Anyway, I'm at a loss as far as what I'm doing.

I'm at 2.15 GHz on standard voltage. I'm holding at 43C at 100% CPU (running Folding in the background). I booted into 2.17 earlier, but when I tried for 2.2... nada. I bumped it back down to 2.17, but it was unstable.

I know that I'll have to up my voltage and all as I go, but I need to have an idea of the stepping of this. I've read the guides, but they don't have the answers I need. They go on and on about what stuff is (I know this), I need the nuts and bolts of it all.

For those who don't know me that well, I tend to deal with generalities for most things, but not with this. I need solid answers.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

OK, I caught Nubius on ToV and picked his brain a little.

I'm at 2.2 GHz, 1.45V. I changed my RAM timings to 2.5-3-3-6, and have it set at 1:1.

I know it can go more, but I'll wait to see if anyone can offer me some more solid info.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Your ram is DDR400 Im assuming correct?

I'd relax those timings a bit. Try 4-4-4-8 It will save you some hassle of figuring out what hardware cuased a BSOD and why.

I'd start out 1.45 Voltage like you have, that's a comfortable tempeture.

Excellent to see you have a good motherboard.


So what I would do is first download some utilites that you will need that will come in handy. I usually make a folder for these types of programs and stick it on my desktop so I know where everything is

CPU-Z Probably one of the more important tools. You know what it does.

Smart Guardian Temepture monitoring Scroll down and look for Smart I/O Driver. The reason you need this over other temepture monitors is becuase this is most accuarate and specially made for NF4 Chipsets like yours

Super Pi Mod You dont need this but it's a fun tool, and usefull for testing ram stability at 32M


You really shouldn't go above 1.55 if you plan on using your overclock 24/7. I assume your on air so 1.5 or 1.55 If your tolerant of your temps.

You might even want to get a new CPU cooler. I'm not sure what you have now, but it could help you get that extra 200 MHz

You might want to invest in a new chipset cooler. This is optional, but is cheap and keeps your north bridge nice and cool.

You should never use windows to overclock A64's. Always stick to the BIOS, so just incase you get instability and looping, you can always clear you CMOS.

This is your new mantra That guide will teach you alot of the vocabulary and such.

I hope I got everything.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

lower you ht multiplier to 4:5 (800mhz) and lower the speed of your ram
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
Your ram is DDR400 Im assuming correct?
Yep.

I've got CPU-Z, I'll download Smart Guardian.

I've got a ThermalTake SilentBoost on my CPU, so I'm good for a bit.

I'll bump it some more when the mood hits me.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya It is funny like that, sometimes you wanna just send the thing through the roof and other days it is just. eh lol
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
Ya It is funny like that, sometimes you wanna just send the thing through the roof and other days it is just. eh lol
I get that alot too. It's strange


Acctually with my AMD it was always whatever it's fast enough.


Little different on the conroe
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

2.3, with 500/1250 on my 7800GTX.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

w00t. can you feel the power??? lol
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 11:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Working on it.

Ran 3DMark06... it survived. I think this was ran at 2.25... not sure about what the GFX OC was.
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=7410835

I'm downloading 3DMark05 right now... gonna try it to get something less depressing.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.