OC Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Default OC Help

how do I overclock my CPU?

Computer
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
Internet Explorer 7.0.5730.11
Computer Name IROK
User Name ShoNuff
Logon Domain IROK

Motherboard
CPU Type Unknown, 1800 MHz (7 x 257)
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 2048 MB
BIOS Type AMI (03/03/07)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GS (256 MB)
Monitor SyncMaster 940BW/199BW/941BW, SyncMaster Magic CX915BW(Analog) [NoDB] (HTBLC03627)

Multimedia
Audio Adapter Realtek HD Audio output

Storage
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive WDC WD3200JB-00KFA0
Optical Drive SONY CD-RW CRX220E1 (52x/24x/52x CD-RW)

Partitions
C: (NTFS) 305234 MB (291087 MB free)

Input
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network
Primary IP Address 192.168.1.101
Primary MAC Address 00-18-39-12-C7-CC
Network Adapter Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter (192.168.1.101)
Network Adapter VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter

Peripherals
USB Device Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter
USB Device USB Human Interface Device

Motherboard : ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA LGA 775 VIA PT880 Ultra ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 Allendale 1.8GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E4300

Dunno why my Aida32 is not reading my MB and CPU.
__________________

attean is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OC Help

is it custom or prebuilt? you would use the bios
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: OC Help

umm...it's custom in a way... haha...I just got the MB and processor today... vcard, psu, hd etc is all from old comp.

what would I do in the bios or where, I've never done this before, but someone told me too since my cpu is only 1.8
attean is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OC Help

read the manual of the mobo for overclock information, you really shouldnt mess with it if you dont know about it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: OC Help

CLICK ME
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 12:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: OC Help

1GB ram of PC2100 and 1GB of PC2700... Currently what I've OCed is
2.4ghz (265mhz x9 multiplier)
Bus Speed: 265.6Mhz
Rated FSB: 1062.3 MHZ


Memory: Timings
Freq: 132.8Mhz
FSBram: 2:1

Would this be stable enough? my temps are running at 38C - 42C on idle...

Ran Prime95 tests and no errors so far
Ran 3DMark05 score is @ 6420

I'm not expecting much higher scores on 3DMark05 since this build isn't thre greatest til I get better ram. Currently running this on stock fan. ANything else I should test/check for?
attean is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: OC Help

well to go higher you need to change voltages. also your ram isn't that great. you should go for PC3200 at least and not the value ram type either.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: OC Help

Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.