Oc Gpu 7800gtx 512 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 03:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Oc Gpu 7800gtx 512

i have evga 7800GTX512 running at 612/1800.
ppl often tells its stupid to OC new GPU.
but it does make difference on f.e.a.r. (and only for f.e.a.r. not really for other games. since all runs great at maxed settings)
it is very stable and no artifacts at all. and my question is, is this bad for the card? is OC gpu shorten its life considerably?
o and whats the max temp that gpu can hundle usually?
thx for the help.
(i have extra 12" fan sitting next to gpu and blowin air directly to the heatsink. it really helps cooling the gpu)
__________________

boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The 7800GTX512 is overvolted to begin with, so it will have a shorter lifespan than the 256mb version even if you don't OC. There is really no point in overclocking it, it's insanely powerful to begin with.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

So how much of a difference in lifespan can you expect from a factory overclocked card?

I got mine for pretty cheap, so I guess I shouldn't be too concerned.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
The 7800GTX512 is overvolted to begin with, so it will have a shorter lifespan than the 256mb version even if you don't OC. There is really no point in overclocking it, it's insanely powerful to begin with.
well...this insanely powerful gpu even lags on fear.
i can run all the other games 1600x1200.
but not fear. i have to run it at 1024x768.
i guess f.e.a.r. graphix is just insane...
o wait, cod2 lags too.. i was expecting that i could run any game on earth at 1600x1200 w this card..
well..not to mention, im extremely happy about this card except for running these 2 games.
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 06:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

lol thats wierd

im able to run cod2 at 1600x1200 with my 7800gt
and im not getting any noticible lag
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Myoushu Chi-Fu
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by boomstick666
well...this insanely powerful gpu even lags on fear.
i can run all the other games 1600x1200.
but not fear. i have to run it at 1024x768.
i guess f.e.a.r. graphix is just insane...
o wait, cod2 lags too.. i was expecting that i could run any game on earth at 1600x1200 w this card..
well..not to mention, im extremely happy about this card except for running these 2 games.
Maybe it's your CPU, the 7800GTX 512 can run anything out currently with no lag at 1600x1200
__________________
<FONT SIZE=1>Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Lian Li V-1000B-W Black Case
Corsair XMS 2GB(1GBx2)PC3200
Samsung SpinPoint 200GB SATA3.0Gb/s x2
eVGA GeForce 7800GTX @ 490/1300
ViewSonic VX924 Black/Silver 19\" 3ms
Antec TruePower 2.0 550W PSU
Creative X-FI Elite Pro
</FONT>

Giggity Giggity, Allright
Myoushu Chi-Fu is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 12:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by boomstick666
well...this insanely powerful gpu even lags on fear.
i can run all the other games 1600x1200.
but not fear. i have to run it at 1024x768.
i guess f.e.a.r. graphix is just insane...
o wait, cod2 lags too.. i was expecting that i could run any game on earth at 1600x1200 w this card..
well..not to mention, im extremely happy about this card except for running these 2 games.
Overclocking will make minimal difference in FEAR. So little that you would probably only notice it if you ran the performance benchmark.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

yea well for how fast these video cards are gettings old, you proubly will be upgrading it before its half dead
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

huh...its weird...i get lag only on fear and cod2.
i cant run it at 1600x1200..every other games run totally smooth.
im on x2 4800+ @ 2.6ghz and stable 1:1 ram ratio.
and i get 3dmark05 @ 10700.
in the performance test on fear, i get no fps less than 40 but in the actual game, it lags. it maybe my monitor...im on mitsubishi 21" CRT.
it goes up to 100Hz on 1600x1200. but im setting it at 85Hz.
any unreal engine game runs great tho. BF2 runs the best.
i noticed that any other game not using unreal engine (like quake engine) somehow flickers even i get good fps. mb just a way those engine works and im on CRT. anybody noticed this? or is it just me..
btw vsync is off and soft shadow is off on fear. and on cod2, it runs super smooth on trilinier, but not on AF.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Myoushu Chi-Fu
Default

You should turn the vsync on. That'll make it better if not eliminate the problem.
__________________

__________________
<FONT SIZE=1>Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Lian Li V-1000B-W Black Case
Corsair XMS 2GB(1GBx2)PC3200
Samsung SpinPoint 200GB SATA3.0Gb/s x2
eVGA GeForce 7800GTX @ 490/1300
ViewSonic VX924 Black/Silver 19\" 3ms
Antec TruePower 2.0 550W PSU
Creative X-FI Elite Pro
</FONT>

Giggity Giggity, Allright
Myoushu Chi-Fu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.