OC e6750 to 4ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default OC e6750 to 4ghz

Has anybody done this on air? I know its a huge stretch for air but I want to try for it atleast for a cpuz screenie.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

I've seen it done on air, before. Or I think it was 3.8GHz. But 4.0GHz is possible on air.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

I'm going for it. As soon as my GPU gets here...
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

What motherboard and HSF, will you be overclocking with?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

P35 DS3R and a Tuniq. I am also looking into a peltier insert between the cpu and hsf. Neoprene FTW!
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

When you insert the peltier between the CPU and HSF, how do you keep condensation from happening? And how do you connect it, so that it has power?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
P35 DS3R and a Tuniq. I am also looking into a peltier insert between the cpu and hsf. Neoprene FTW!
not sure that's a good idea.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

You use a silicone gel in and around the processor itself, also on the backside of the mobo for good measure, cover the whole area with a thin layer of dense foam and wrap up the heat pipes with neoprene. Now you have an impermeable water boundary and a awesome insulation layer. Its easy when you have the right materials and decent understanding of humidity. The best way I found was to google the topic, there are alot of work logs out there with that focus on this project.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

As for power you can use either a converter kit that can be bought or made to run from your PSU or you can buy an independent power supply that you can put in a 5.25 bay.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: OC e6750 to 4ghz

but air cooling a TEC? What kind of TEC are you planning on using?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why is the E6750 cheaper than the E6700? Sirius_GTO New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-23-2007 02:45 PM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
E6600 vs E6750 Acentric New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-05-2007 12:43 PM
Somebody with e6750 and p35ds3r!!!! OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-24-2007 12:44 AM
E6750 benchmarks !!! maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-26-2007 09:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.