Oc E6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2006, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Default Oc E6600

hi i said i wud never oc my pc but have decided i will because every1 says its 100% safe to oc the E6600 to 2.6 with no extra cooling, so cud some1 please tell me how to do it do i just raise the FSB in bios if so to how much?

i have:
p5b mobo
2 gig of 663mhz ram

UT-44 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421

Go into your BIOS, and raise the FSB, and if needed, the voltage on your CPU. Check your temperatures before you even start overclocking, though. You don't want your CPU to be about 40 degrees stock.

Normally you should raise the FSB frequency by tiny bits (5 or 10Mhz) and see if you maintain stability. But since the C2D's are known to overclock well, you could safely clock it to 333Mhz to match your memory if your temperatures are low enough.

After every overclock, run a test, check your temperatures and stress your cpu to see if it's stable. There are programs to do this.

Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51

TAT says each cpu is 30*C at moment but when i go into bios it says like 43*C is that normal?
UT-44 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51

i ment i have 667mhz ram not 663mhz
UT-44 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421

43 degrees is acceptable (I would believe the BIOS over TAT since the information it retrieves can be inaccurate). But nothing that will allow you to overclock that far. Just do it in little increments, and check your temperature afterwards. I would not overclock it beyond 50 degrees, in fact if I were you I'd get a better cooler or better airflow in your case. Because 43 degrees is idle and who knows how hot it will run stressed.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 01:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956

it will run a lot hotter under a load.
a lot.
i have a zalman9500, and with my oc, i idle at 36 and load at about 45-50(or after several hours of online chaos). and i have a ****load of fans in my case, too. better than smokin the cpu.
although the c2d may have lower load temp, but i dont think so because the idle temp is so much higher than mine.
at stock voltage, i idle at 27 and load at 38-44. but i have to really juice my cpu to get my overclock as well, and i dont think you will have to do that with your 6600.
good luck!

p.s. everyone who says they will "never overclock" usually ends up doing it, im guilty too. its fun!
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
KingAustin's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin

Originally posted by nagasama
it will run a lot hotter under a load.
The stock core 2 duo heatsink fan is not bad at all, regardless of what people are saying about it. As long as temps are under 60 you're perfectly fine, and you honestly shouldn't worry if it's under 70 (celcius). 200 Mhz is hardly overclocking when it comes to conroes, you won't see any real noticeable change in performance or temperatures.
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 08:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
aspire's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308

got my 66 to 3.3 last night.

Im on water so thats not really a good comparrison
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.


The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 06:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
naerskine's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152

@ 3100 MHZ im getting only 27c idle and 33c at load (while playing FSX) I do live in a cool dry climate and I think that might help a bit. Sorry to hijack good luck with the OC, it took me for ever to get above 2860mhz with my 6600 because of a ****ty mobo.

naerskine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.