OC a Dell Optiplex PIII? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 06:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

ebayfreak, your risking the computer... If you dont know how to OC, then dont dear. I can tell you rite now, those computers are not built for OC. The newer dells would be ideal compared to those. Your mobo is not built to handle OC, so increasing the mhz and voltage can desolate your system.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Dell's are all locked I thought.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Try clockgen If you want. be warnede!
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Theirs more to OC then some program you DL... Dont suggest people those types of programs if they dont have the currect hardware they need. Or if they just have no clue what they are doing. They will end up crashing their system.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

omd codeine- i sed earlier I DONT CARE ABOUT MESSING UP THAT COMPUTER!! someone gave it to me, so i'm willing to risk frying it!

thanks for the program idea- i'll try it sometime
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Well I understand codeine but he really don't care about the computer which I would just sell it or what not and If he wants to take the risk then I really don't care. Anyeay if he was worried he wouldn't just trust me I'm sure he would want some other peoples advice. also I know he doesn't have the hardware to OC it but if he knows his temps are low enough he could do it and for your safty freak just don't listen to me, I'm not smart.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

ok- i'll probably just end up selling it on ebay
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:22 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

rather use it or make a bit of money out of it rather than pointlessly ruining it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 01:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

yeah but thats how you learn things. trial and error. i wouldnt want to try to OC my good computer, but instead experiment with a secondary computer.

I'll probably just sell it because it doesnt sound like i will be able to OC it.
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 01:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

it looks like your good computer is OC'd. There is no such thing as a 488 FSB bus unless you OC'd it.

You most likey cannot OC that Dell. But I was able to OC my old compaq but alot of the old P1's were able to OC from the board thru jumpers.

I would just not OC that optiplex and use it as a server or something. Or sell it and make money.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.