OC a Dell Optiplex PIII? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2005, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default OC a Dell Optiplex PIII?

I'm a newbie at OC'ing- I heard one time that there was no way to OC a pre-built computer (such as Dell) without making your own BIOS or some other very difficult thing. Is this true? I really would like to try OC'ing this computer, since i really don't care too much about it- it was given to me. Help please?
__________________

ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Go to the bios, there should be cpu clock control there. If not there will be jumpers on the mobo. If there isnt jumpers, looks like you cant overclock it.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

My computer is a Dell Optiplex Gx150 p3 1Ghz

and it 100% non overclockable
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

you can get programs that do it in windows, but it isn't the place to overclock.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

i tried doing it in BIOS, but its locked where you cant change it. where would the jumpers be? what would they be labeled?
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ebayfreak
i tried doing it in BIOS, but its locked where you cant change it. where would the jumpers be? what would they be labeled?

dont worry you cant overclock it, i have the same comp i think
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

mine is a Dell Optiplex GX1
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

ah ok
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

well can anyone tell me where those jumpers WOULD be if i could OC it? What are they labeled? What program could i download that would OC it? i will try everything.
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

if they are labelled they would be labelled either bus or clock ratio.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.