oc attempt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default oc attempt

i tried to do some minimal ocing yesterday by setting my cpu at 206x9 and it wouldnt even boot. I dont know much about ocing but i thought i could at least achieve this low overclock with all other settings on default.
__________________

__________________
Opteron 165 oc 2.7
eVGA 7800 GT
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
1GB OCZ Enhanced Latency (2 x 512MB)
Antec TP-II (550w)
Scythe Ninja
macombaland is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well this means that your memory needs voltage. i think your running pc3200 and unless you didnt use a devider then that would have thrown your memory to
412mhz effective, and it didnt do it on those timmings nor the voltage you are using. so i suggest finding dimm v in your bios, and raising it a little bit, remeber this 3.5v will not fry anything. so dont worry, im sure yours is proubly like 2.6-2.7, if it wasnt your memory then it should have booted because i hear opterons are hitting like 2.7ghz on stock voltage sometimes lol. so you proubly want to put your memory to like 3.2v and run it like that all the time lol. and your v core to like 1.4v and start raising the fsb oh yea and you must turn your hyper transport from4x to 3x, remeber you must run 3x for any overclocking.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default

thanks!
__________________
Opteron 165 oc 2.7
eVGA 7800 GT
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
1GB OCZ Enhanced Latency (2 x 512MB)
Antec TP-II (550w)
Scythe Ninja
macombaland is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default

Ok I tried raising the ram voltage to about 3v. Raised the HTT to only 207 with a multiplier of 9. Still no startup. I have been checking out ram voltages of other opteron users and none are over 3v. It still doesnt make sense to me that i cannot make such a small jump.

Overclockers id reall appreciate some input..i dont want to screw up my whole setup!
__________________
Opteron 165 oc 2.7
eVGA 7800 GT
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
1GB OCZ Enhanced Latency (2 x 512MB)
Antec TP-II (550w)
Scythe Ninja
macombaland is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I would say just set a mem divider like 1:2 and see how high your CPU will go. Then switch it and see how high your ram will go. Then once you know those things you can use a small divider so that you can get as close as possible to your max CPU and max RAM
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Try using a RAM divider, losen up the timings a bit if you don't, and 2.8V should be enough for your RAM if it isn't something like Bh-5 or w/e it's called. Also try upping the Vcore slightly for the cpu, VERY SLIGHTLY!!!!

1: Use a RAM divider. (Or loosen up the timings, it would help if we knew what kind of ram your using, and 2.8V for the RAM should be enough, but 2.9 is the highest I would ever go with RAM unless it needs it.)
2: Up the Vcore slightly, like 0.25% at the most is what I would say.
3: Try upping by increments of 3, because stock being 200*9 = 1800Mhz, and 206*9 = 1854Mhz, might just wanna take it a little slower.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.