OC 3600+ answer needed fast - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2007, 02:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

Yeah, that's kind of the conclusion we're at too and that crucial idea is our next plan once we get to what we find to be the max of his g.skill.

after sitting overnight it seems to have stabilized and now orthos runs fine at 2.5 at 1.35, i see no indication it's maxed other than the temp and he's going to pick up the freezer pro this week.

So the ram is at 677 and running around 837 at 2.0v and that bump to 2.0 was what was needed to get it stable. at 1.95 it we'd get an orthos error after 5 minutes or so but at 2.0v we were good for about 30 min ans still no errors. now playing with ht multiplier and the timings, see if we can notch those down a bit.

What affect would the multiplier have on speed between 3,4 and 5?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 02:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

So ran 3d mark on 3,4,and 5 multiplier, best score was on 5 at +1300.

what kind of score should be looking for with stock cooling on 3600+, 2gb of 6400 and msi 6600gt gpu?

Right now he's well under 2000 pre gpu OC.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 03:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

Is this normal? we have tightened the timings from 5-5-5-15 to 4-4-4-13 and 3Dmark06 has dropped a half dozen points, huh?
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 03:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

I have no idea lol, I might be decent at clocking gpu's and cpu's, but not ram 0_0

anyways, you can check similar system configs and their scores with ORB, you don't need to pay or anything, just check out the various taps such as COmparison and such
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 03:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post

49C is a great temperature... you can probably go around 60-70 without killing it
Sounds scary.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 03:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
Sounds scary.
lol, well technically you can probably get to 80, but then your CPU will start to throttle anyways and you could get it permanantly damaged if it doesn't
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 04:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

getting a bit peeved here....my stock 3DMark06 score was around 6800 and after OC it was at 10k. This one, although stock cooling and a 6600gt isn't even hitting 1800! What's up? normal?

cpu: 3600+ @ 2.5
RAM: g.skill 6400 4-4-4-13
vid: 6600gt @ 504/608

3DMark06 stock: 1650
3DMark06 oc'ed:1750
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: OC 3600+ answer needed fast

like I said, check ORB to compare between similar systems...
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Answer Asap!! revenge2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-21-2007 09:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.