To the oblivious Gigabyte mobo owners. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default To the oblivious Gigabyte mobo owners.

So, when I got my Gigabyte GA-K8U-939 motherboard, I noticed the BIOS settings were a little... Basic. There weren't any memory options or anything like that. So I was regretfully assuming that this motherboard couldn't overclock for crap.

I read through the manual, and they didn't mention any way of getting to advanced settings, nor did the website... Only when I started reading though the Via-Arena forums, I discovered that advanced settings are locked and to unlock them, you have to press CTRL+F1 while in BIOS. I did so, and now I've got a whole bunch of settings to mess with (which will also help me with overclocking).

Just felt that this needed to get out to anyone who has a Gigabyte board and didn't know this. It sure helped me.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

They were in my manual
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 06:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Hmm, maybe I will try this on next boot (although there seems to be plenty of options in the BIOS)
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
They were in my manual

My manual is garbage... Here's a quote from it that made me laugh:
"Incorrect using these features make cause your system broken."

But yeah, there's two options there I'm not sure of:

M1689 Gated Clock
This field is used to enable or disable the gated clock.

PCI/14M/USB CLK PowerDown
This field is used to enable or disable the PCI/14M/USB clock
power down function.



I'm really hoping that gated clock has something to do with PCI, as I can't find a PCI lock on this mobo... Anyone know what these two options mean and what they do?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ya, Um, I guess the Memo Didn't get to you, Gigabytes aren't that great for overclocking. They are more for reliability, If you wanted to Overclock why didn't you Buy a MSI or DFI?

:/
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Because I don't have much money, and the Gigabyte K8U was the cheapest board I could find that had decent reviews.

I guess I can still overclock it 20% 'til I manage to buy a better overclocking board. I'm sure that won't raise the PCI frequency enough to damage anything.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 03:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i had to update my GA-K8NS in order to get all the o/c features
went from F4 to F18 version. heh.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 03:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

F18? Mine was F3, I just updated mine from the internet, and the most recent one was F5.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 10:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

might just be the different models?
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 02:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WTF!



On the back of my gigabyte mobo box it says it supports the CIA and MIB function.... but i failed to enable it until today when I saw this thread.. And it works!!!! I got all of these really nice and gangster settings..

Thank you WorldIndustries
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.