Oblivion Troubles Me - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2006, 09:54 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

thanks.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 11:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Where is the SLI thing? I looked all over my display settings and couldn't find anything on Oblivion.
__________________

fuz_master is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 03:46 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default

No way is it your system lazer_viking, you beat me by a clear 1000 in 3dmark and I play it no hassles. Only real difference that might influence it might be the motherboard you call a "crappy unknown thing"

Got to be some hidden issue here. Have you tried disabling sli and try to run it? The re enable it

What settings does it apply for you when you start up oblivion for the first time ?

I would go over every device and check drivers etc .. Your specs certainly come up to recommeneded that of TES:4. A v. good machine IMO


Btw.. thanks for heads up joshd about sig.. resized accordingly
TermyBGL is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 05:57 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

yeah, i can make it play. it even specifed "Ultra High Settings" for me when i first started playing it. but ultra high isn't 100%, there are still some bars at 70% or 65%. every single game i find i can play it at 100% highest settings. with oblivion i have to sacrifice some features to make the framerate bareable which makes me a sad panda.
yea it not that i cant play it, i just cant play it at highest quality.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 06:08 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

bah, get used to it, lol. i am well accustomed to non-100%ness.
joshd is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 06:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

ugh still cant find the place to enable sli.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:22 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

it probably already is enabled. right click your desktop, click nvidia display, click performance and quality settings, select the application (oblivion in this case) then look at all the settings for it and SLI is in there. like i said, it is already enabled if you haven't touched it before.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 09:40 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

the lowest i've seen was in Burma outside. it was about 22 FPS with everything cranked up on high 1280x1024... But, it was only for a few seconds then it went back up to about 40+ FPS.

Some places inside I get over 100 FPS... On average it's like 55-60 FPS.

I'm happy with that in a game like this.... Now if it was a FPS like BF2... I don't want anything less then 100 FPS... which is the BF2 cap.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 09:56 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

someone reply to my "trying not to panic here..." because im panicing. a LOT.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.