Oblivion Troubles Me - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2006, 10:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60
Default

1024x768 max looks worse than 1280x1024 medium because of my LCD. My card doesn't have the umph to play anywhere close to max at 1280x1024. Im putting this game on hold till my next upgrade, because I agree, this one needs to be played at max.
__________________

BioT3ch is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

hey that thing about enabling SLI manually made sense because from what i can see, SLI isn't in effect while im playing it.
but i went to the control panel (btw for those who asked, the way to get there is to right click on your desktop, select 'Nvidia Display', in that menu click 'Performance and Quality Settings'.) but once i looked at oblivion it was already enabled . i guess that proves that it was working though. thanks. i suppose oblivion is just too high-tech for my comp. i dont see why though, the graphics dont look all THAT stunning. there are games that in my opinion look a lot better than oblivion. character models could use a little work.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

btw: TermyBGL, your sig is too big. max is 468x120. i would change it before sig santa get you...
joshd is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I still cant find it....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60
Default

Oblivion may just have a bad engine. Today's engines are increasingly more lacking in efficiency.
BioT3ch is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

dunno, it is VERY good graphics...
joshd is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

SLI is known to perform worse than a single card solution in some games.

Also, your system is hardly kick ***. The FX is the only great thing about it.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 07:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i thought that FX-57s were good?
joshd is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 07:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
i thought that FX-57s were good?
yeah, hes saying that the FX is the only good thing about it. hey, it was pretty dang sweet when i bought it, before 7900s came out .

i should stop critizing oblivion though, i havn't had any time to sit down and seriously play it. i only have about 2 hours in it .
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, i would love to have that system...
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.