Oblivion Troubles Me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Oblivion Troubles Me

EVERYONE who has oblivion speaks well of it. But there are a few technical aspects I'm confused with. Nvidia's SLI "Show GPU load balancing" does not display like it does on all other games and I have to set the terrain distance down about 75% for the framerates to reach 30+.
Now don't think of me as concieted, but I'd say I have a pretty **** kick *** machine. Why should I have to lower several settings in this one particular game (everything else (ex. quake 4) i can have the settings almost all the way up and have reasonable framerates(higher than 30...)). It's almost like SLI isn't kicking in or something in Oblivion.

[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60

Oblivion runs like crap at highest settings on almost all machines. You run it far better with SLI though than most people with single cards do.

BioT3ch is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154

Yeah I hear about ppl with 7900s still lagging w/Morrowind. Same for me but I have a 6600.
fuz_master is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107

hey.it is a pretty hungry game graphics wise. but your doin quite well. with my 79000gtx delivers on average 30fps outside with everthing on high and around 60+ indoors.
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

keep your view distance and distant lands 100% but trim some of the other pointless settings, you will double your fps.

I'm running a 7800gs and I get playable rates outside with max view + distant lands. Turning those off makes 1/2 the game world disappear, not worth it. Kill AA and lower your res.
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

Check out this:


It is just a crazily demanding game.

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 07:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

good lord! i am going to have to run it quite low when i get it then!
joshd is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52

I have a friend who had this, pasting a section of the discussion from our board

round about midnight when i was gettin alittle bit bored, i played around with the nvidia control panel and found an TES 4:Oblivion option in the graphics settings. from there i could enable sli. thats when i could play with everything on high, and i realised this is the most beautiful and immersive game iv ever played.
So there you have an idea, worth a try if you havent already

Shouldnt have to settle for less then max settings, I got mine at max and play no lag atall. With 2 in sli you should be the same
TermyBGL is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

Can you tell me where to get to this i can't find it.
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52

Sorry no I cant, I'm an ATI user. But by the sound of it should be a icon on yout toolbar maybe

TermyBGL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.