o/c e6600 on a p5b deluxe wi-fi - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2007, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default o/c e6600 on a p5b deluxe wi-fi

hey, at the moment were overclocking these components together we cant get it to post at 3.0..and seeing ever1 else is around this or above we think we are missing something here. we underclocked the ram and turned up the voltage to the cpu but are still having problems. any ideas. runing at 2.8 stable so far.
__________________

__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Well describe your problems.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

ok setting the fsb to 330 with the multi on 9 and a voltage of 1.4 . underclocked the ram.. then we restarted and all we get is the pc starting and a blank screen.. no beebs aswell and it will just stay they like that.
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

and now in the 3d mark 05 cpu test we only get bearly 1 fps
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

interesting

The p5b-deluxe has some issues at the higher 300's fsb but your not there yet. 1.4v is actually prob overkill for 3 ghz but that wouldn't make it unstable. When you say underclock your ram, you mean its a ddr2 660 (330 x 2)? That wouldn't make it unstable either if the answer is yes. I had my sb and nb on auto voltages until i got to 3.4ghz but you might want try upping the south bridge and north bridge just in case also. Also there is a termination voltage setting (can't remember what it was exactly called), but try raising that up too.

If nothing else, heres a guide specifically for overclocking on a asus p5b-deluxe. But don't set your pci express frequency to 120 (i have myn at 100). And you don't need to go as far as he does, its just a good reference to guide you.

Hope that helps
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Yeah we actually came across that thread today after some googling. so we tried those settings . It booted to windows once at 3ghz but then kept rebooting.. Also updated the bios . the ram was 660 aswell..We couldnt even get to the logo screen after that. Allthough all power was on fans were goin the water cooling was on to.
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 03:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

whats your specs for your c2d system?
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 03:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

its a friends rig and its a . e6600 on a asus p5b deluxe wi/fi. ati x1950xtx.. tt big water cooling. 600 watt tough power .2x 1 gig silicon power ddr667...some brand i havnt heard of.
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

hmm....yeah that seems like an off brand,since i did a search for it and only found it on some adware shop.com site . Are you giving the ram the voltage it needs at stock (check the box it came in, if he still has it)? Also check the ram timings and see if they arn't what is called for at stock.

Im trying to think about the bios in my head to see if i forgot something but i think it should be stable with the settings you have. So maybe its not a system error, maybe its hardware. Check to see if everything is plugged in correctly and not slightly unplugged or something, and resit everything(except the cpu cause that can be tedious and your system wouldn't boot if it isn't sited right ), just to see if anything might have been hanging off a little or something.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 03:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

You may be having issues with the thermaltake water cooling, check and see how hot the air is coming out of the radiator. If it feels like a blowdryer then it may be having trouble keeping you cpu cool.

One other thing you might want to check is your power supply, what are its voltage ratings, link?

I have got my e6600 to bench at 3.72 so you shouldnt have a problem hitting 3
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.