o/c 64bit socket 939 3000+ to 3500+ ? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 12:52 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default

That's nice, you'll break the 2.2 GHz in no time.
__________________

Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 03:23 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Done! CPU is now running a little faster than a 3500+



EDIT: nice looking rig GrimReaper23
__________________

imation is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Play some mad video games at 2.2ghz, and watch those temps. If your cpu ever exceeds 48 degrees celcius at IDLE. Dont OC anymore, becuase those temps will jump once you start using your computer. You want to stay under 60 degrees celcius.

Also, if you do anymore OC, increase your Vcore to 1.5volts. You will need to increase your DDRV for sure too. Have you already? If not im surprised. If you havent, then increase it by 0.5
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:01 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Thanks for the reply codeine. I havn't increased any voltages yet, but in BIOS (pheonix bios) all voltage settings are set to "auto".

I have had my computer on for nearly a week straight now (not including restarts to o/c cpu) and have been running 3dmark03 overnight while I sleep, and have not noticed any stability issues, is increasing the voltage necessary?
imation is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:27 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by imation
Thanks for the reply codeine. I havn't increased any voltages yet, but in BIOS (pheonix bios) all voltage settings are set to "auto".

I have had my computer on for nearly a week straight now (not including restarts to o/c cpu) and have been running 3dmark03 overnight while I sleep, and have not noticed any stability issues, is increasing the voltage necessary?
Probably not a good idea if you are still breaking in some thermal compound. You should turn it off and let it sit for overnight every night.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:19 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Probably not a good idea if you are still breaking in some thermal compound. You should turn it off and let it sit for overnight every night.
Yup, thermal compound needs to both heat up and cool down for it to properly 'cure'....of course if you're using something short of AS5 then curing really isn't going to benefit you at all, but still if it's a fairly new put together machine you should give it some down time
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:20 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

ok, thanks for the info!

I used the thermal grease that came with my zalman hs&f. Will leave my comp off for tonight.

Cheers!
imation is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:50 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Default

wat settings are u using for your ram? wat type of ram are u using also as i am planning the same same rig (except im getting the dfi ultra-d) and i am getting dual channel geil ram that is rated at 2.5-8-4-4 @ ddr400 with ddr 2.55v-2.95v
GrayFox^ is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:26 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

The giel dual chan. ram im using is 2-6-3-3 @ ddr400, at 2.55V-2.95V.
imation is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:04 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Imation, even without the thermal paste issue, dont put anything on auto. Its hard for the computer to decide when it needs voltage. I promise you before it ajust itself, its going to crash first. Crashing is the most common thing you must aviod. Anything can happen software wise. Believe me on that man.

Like i said before, im probably one of the most experienced people here with OC FAILURES. Besides the fact its simply bad, i learned so much from it. So please turn that off, and the next time you OC, please increase the voltage following my recommendations. Damn your mobo has 2.95 DDRV settings. Thats alot of voltage, but i swear RAM uses sooooo much voltage. Mine only has 2.80. I think a 3.0 mobo would rock.

The thing i hate about my mobo is my DDRV voltage which cant exceed 2.80, and my HTTV which cant exceed 1.35. Im pretty sure 1.35V can only get your external clock at around 240. Thats around 3.0ghz for my processor.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.