nVidia 5700 Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default nVidia 5700 Ultra

I'm fairly new to the OC'ing scene.. With that said I was looking to push a little extra out of my 5700 Ultra. I went into the properties and auto-detected best clock frequencies for my card. It pushed it up to 532/1002 in '3D performance' ..

A Few questions:

I wanted to know how to push this card a little further without upgrading cooling devices?

Fearing damaging the card; How do you test the maximum clock speed for the card (safely)

Should I also push the clock rates up on the '2d performance' aswell?

Are there any other tools to better help me in this besides the 'coolbits' nvidia registry?

__________________

RaiN is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

That is a good overclock for that card.

You can't really push it to the potential because the card is still on stock cooling, you would have to go with water or dry ice to really push it.

Download 3DM01 and 3DM03 and try both setting with 2d and 3d and see how you do, post screenies back, or PM them to me. I could help you further.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Wow that is a very good overclock for that card
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I got the same on my 5700 PC. Wel lnot the same but you know what i mean, close. It seems the 5700s OC quite well and when you do it increases performance alot. Go ahead and DL Rivatuner and OC by increments of 5 on both mem and core testing w/ the "test" feature until it says test failed. Then back it down until it dosent then go into a heavy game or benchmark and see if it has artifacts. If it dosent then its stable, if it does you gott back down some more. Repeat that until its stable.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

I pushed a little more out of it after directing a few fans at the card.

2D Performance


3d Performance


Temp -- Idle after playing Half Life 2


So.. I shouldn't expect to get anything more out of this card unless I upgrade to better cooling?
RaiN is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 08:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well i see that its a pretty good overclock but ur card seems to be running a bit hot at idle temps lol, its not to bad but if you want to squeeze max potential out of this card, i suggest mounting a socket a giant processor heat sink. with some artic silver 5 thermal gel. im sure you would pull 585mhz on the core and possibly 1080mhz out of the memory. i say use the socket a heat sinks becasue there pretty bulky, really cheap, and work great. plus i wouldnt recommend spending 30 bucks on a vga cooler on a 5700 ultra, seeing is with the super overclock the card would still be holding back in high end gaming
burned-ati is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Hmm **** man thats some serious OC!!! Thats really pushing a bit far. Oh yea, thats also a REALLY good idle temp. Consider looking at the core threshold and looking at what its staying idle after OC. BTW thats mine stays at stock lol and when i push it w/ a game it only goes up to 55. I dont think extra cooling will be needed. Im not saying its not necesary but its really not needed.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'd get the Zalman VF700-CU vga cooler. I bought it and it lowed my temps to a very comfortable range. It keeps it cool and helped me squeak out a few more non-dangerous mhz out of my core. And my card is a terrible overclocker!

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

dude geez thats over 100mhz :shocked: anyways i dont think extra cooling is necessary, and run 3dmark03 or 05
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.