nVidia 5700 Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 11-13-2005, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Default nVidia 5700 Ultra

I'm fairly new to the OC'ing scene.. With that said I was looking to push a little extra out of my 5700 Ultra. I went into the properties and auto-detected best clock frequencies for my card. It pushed it up to 532/1002 in '3D performance' ..

A Few questions:

I wanted to know how to push this card a little further without upgrading cooling devices?

Fearing damaging the card; How do you test the maximum clock speed for the card (safely)

Should I also push the clock rates up on the '2d performance' aswell?

Are there any other tools to better help me in this besides the 'coolbits' nvidia registry?

Old 11-13-2005, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie

That is a good overclock for that card.

You can't really push it to the potential because the card is still on stock cooling, you would have to go with water or dry ice to really push it.

Download 3DM01 and 3DM03 and try both setting with 2d and 3d and see how you do, post screenies back, or PM them to me. I could help you further.

Old 11-13-2005, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie

Send a message via AIM to TheOtis

Wow that is a very good overclock for that card
Old 11-13-2005, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru

I got the same on my 5700 PC. Wel lnot the same but you know what i mean, close. It seems the 5700s OC quite well and when you do it increases performance alot. Go ahead and DL Rivatuner and OC by increments of 5 on both mem and core testing w/ the "test" feature until it says test failed. Then back it down until it dosent then go into a heavy game or benchmark and see if it has artifacts. If it dosent then its stable, if it does you gott back down some more. Repeat that until its stable.

Access to my Plex PM me.
Old 11-13-2005, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)