nTune good for overclocking GPU? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2007, 02:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

See how happy you are once you overclocked your computer? About a month ago when I first joined and you were still active, you said you weren't going to overclock at all! :snob:
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
See how happy you are once you overclocked your computer? About a month ago when I first joined and you were still active, you said you weren't going to overclock at all! :snob:
I know hehe. I was scared lolz. But i didnt know it was this simple!

I still have to OC my ram but nah, i think ill leave it the way it is lolz.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

Well if you didn't notice, while increasing your FSB, it increased the RAM speed. It might be unstable so you'll probably have to tighten the timings just a bit.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Well if you didn't notice, while increasing your FSB, it increased the RAM speed. It might be unstable so you'll probably have to tighten the timings just a bit.
my ram can go up to 4-4-4-12 and on CPUZ reading its 5-6-6-18.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

lol i tried ntune and did the coarse tuning thing. i didn't realise it did my cpu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
meh it's only 200Mhz but that's 10% extra.

i had a ton of programs open when i set it off to tune, i wonder if i coulda got more speed. it certainly upped my bus speed. it left my riva tuner settings for gpu core and gpu ram. nice. shame ntune crashes if i ask it to tell my gpu temp.
-stock cooling and just two 8" case fans.
time to change my sig :laughing:
i'm going to have to have another go before i do my proper OC with my new coolers.

Edit: woooh, my system ram has gone up to 183.4MHz from 167.9MHz. i'm still wondering why it isn't running at least at 200MHz- it is ddr. i'm prolly being thick.

i've never had an OCed system bus- is my HD at risk?

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:37 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Well if you didn't notice, while increasing your FSB, it increased the RAM speed. It might be unstable so you'll probably have to tighten the timings just a bit.
dont mean to correct, but pchung meant you may have to "loosen" the timings just a bit.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
dont mean to correct, but pchung meant you may have to "loosen" the timings just a bit.
OK ntune bombs out when increasing my FSB. I presume this is because of my RAM then? It makes sure to clock my RAM really low, then it moves on to start increasing the FSB. It set my RAM as:

2.5-3-3-7 @ 183.4MHz

It's 2GB of Kingston 3200

Should I losen the timings if I want to increase my FSB with this RAM installed? Of course if I did this I'd have to manually start OCing and not use ntune.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
dont mean to correct, but pchung meant you may have to "loosen" the timings just a bit.
Oh oops. Higher CAS latency means looser timing, I think. Or was it Higher CAS latency means tighter timings?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: nTune good for overclocking GPU?

higher the CAS, looser the timings.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend a Good MMORPG zetahammy PC Gaming 12 09-29-2007 01:25 PM
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM
Good games for 7900gs krazyq PC Gaming 14 08-04-2007 11:45 PM
New NVIDIA nTune Osiris Overclocking and Modding 0 04-27-2007 05:49 PM
Good Webcam? SiZcO Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.