Novice OCer - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2010, 12:52 PM   #61 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

Yeah, I did read your guide, but I got lost in it....

Edit: I'm lost. let me show you what I see.




That looks like nothing you said. I never changed RAM frequency.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 05:37 PM   #62 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Novice OCer

In your 2nd picture, at the top, do you see where it says Target DRAM Frequency? That is your DRAM Frequency with your present settings.

Now try changing the "actual" DRAM Frequency Setting to one of your options and see what effect it has by looking at the Target DRAM Frequency. I suggest trying the DDR3-1600MHz option 1st.

When you change this setting you'll need to increase your IMC Voltage, I would start at 1.3 volts and work my way down again.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:28 PM   #63 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

Do I need to run Linx again to test for stability after changing this??

I have to get a new camera, too...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:43 PM   #64 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Novice OCer

If you get it to boot, you always need to run LinX or some stress testing program. What's your RAMs exact model number?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:03 PM   #65 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:18 PM   #66 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Novice OCer

Looking at the 1st picture

change these

CAS# Latency - 9
RAS# to CAS# Delay -9
RAS# PRE Time - 9
RAS# ACT Time - 24
Timing Mode - 2N

And in your Voltage Setting make sure the DRAM Voltage is set to 1.5 volts.

If the PC fails to post you may have to raise the DRAM Voltage, most DDR3 1600 memory modules need 1.65 volts but G.Skill says 1.5 so I'd try it 1st.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:26 PM   #67 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

Along with the above, Slay?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:30 PM   #68 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Novice OCer

Wow ok, your timings are wrong, and you should be running your ram at 1600Mhz not 1200Mhz. So. Change settings to this:

DRAM Frequency: 1600Mhz
BCLK: 200
Where it says 8-8-8-22 in your first pic, change it to 9-9-9-24
Where it says 2N change it from auto and manually set it to 2N
Set the DRAM voltage to 1.5v

edit: **** I left this page unrefreshed for a while before replying
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:46 PM   #69 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Novice OCer

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Along with the above, Slay?
Yes
.................................
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:06 PM   #70 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

LOL Soul...

Thanks, Slay.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help regarding RAM! Please! (Novice) Mounce System Upgrades 3 04-22-2009 11:39 PM
First time OCer and heatsink ratzlaff Overclocking and Modding 34 12-13-2008 08:31 PM
Novice Needs Help :) d3nd3 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 07-03-2008 01:54 PM
Athlon 4800, easy ocer? backup287 Overclocking and Modding 11 02-13-2007 06:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.