Novice OCer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2010, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Novice OCer

I have an i5 760, ASUS P7P55D-E LX.

It is at a cool temperature of ~30C. I wanted to break it in, make sure there were no problems.

So, I'm ready to OC. I haven't done this in awhile. I did it on my 775 C2Q 6600, maybe 2 years ago? But I'm shady on how to actually do it. I do know all precautions, don't OC too fast, take it slow.

I found pictures of The BIOS on my board. Might be an earlier version, but pretty much the same.



I don't exactly know how much to raise each section.

Anything else you need, ask!
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Novice OCer

I'm more into the fast-track. Try these setting and lets see what happens. Write down any errors or STOP code messages you may get. Post a HWMonitor and CPUID screenies.

Set the:

Ai Tweaker

Ai Overclock Tuner to - Manual
CPU Ratio Setting - 20
Intel Speedstep - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode - Disabled
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode - Enabled
BCLK Frequency - 200
DRAM Frequency - 1066
QPI Frequency - Auto
DRAM Timing Control - Set these to latencies specified by the Manufacturer
CPU Differential Amplitude - not sure, I think the higher the value, the smoother or cleaner the voltage signal will be. I would leave at Auto for now

CPU Clock Skew - Auto
CPU Voltage Mode - Fixed Voltage - 1.325 (this may need to go up but we really want it around the 1.30 - 1.325 range)

IMC Voltage - 1.3v (This is the Internal Memory Controller Voltage, because your using 8GB's and I'm assuming you have a 4x2GB setup, you'll probably need to set this higher than a 2x2GB setup. I would try 1.3v and maybe we can lower it.)

CPU PLL - Auto (we'll raise this if we have errors and adjusting the CPU volts has no effect)

PCH Voltage - Auto (Southbridge Voltage)
Load Line Calibration - Enabled
CPU Spread Spectrum - Auto
PCIE Spread Spectrum - Auto

Advanced
CPU Configuration

CPU Ratio Setting - 20
C1E Support - Disabled
Hardware Prefetcher - Enabled
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetcher - Enabled
Max CPUID - Disabled
Intel Virtualization Tech - Unless your using a program like Virtual PC you can Disable this.
CPU TM Function - Disabled
Execute Disable Bit - Enabled
Intel HT Technology - Enabled
Active Processor Cores - All
A20M - Disabled
Intel Speedstep Tech - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode Tech - Disabled
Intel C-State Tech - Disabled
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

WOW Slay....



Added CoreTemp in there as well, always run it on the desktop.

But 4Ghz! Wow... Last time I saw that big of a boost was with my E2140...

THANK YOU SLAY!!

No problems yet. Should I do a Linx stress test on this?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Novice OCer

Yes. I would stop the run if your temps hits 80C. If it passes we want to start lowering the voltages. I would like to see the cpu voltage around 1.3v, 1.30625v or 1.3125v maximum (in the bios) but it will depend on how good your heatsink works with the heat applied.

I'd also like to see the IMC voltage come down to 1.1v to 1.2v

Try lowering only one voltage at a time
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Novice OCer

Hate to be the killjoy here... but why not just buy hardware that meets the specs you want already? It runs just as fast and saves you hassle of shortening the life of your hardware... just sayin. Maybe I'm missing something here... Thats just me though.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Novice OCer

Because you can't buy 4GHz CPUs. And besides, shaving a couple of years off a 10+ year lifespan doesn't really make all that much difference, since most of us techie types will have upgraded long before it becomes an issue. Also, it's a fun thing to do, and it's getting extra performance for free. For more, just Google 'advantages overclocking cpu' or something like that.

Edit: Don't anyone be snarky and point out that 4Ghz Pentium 4 :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

Slay: The temps are around 36C now that it had run rested for awhile now.
The CPU voltage is the "CPU Voltage Mode", correct? IMC voltage I got.
I'll see what I can do. I always liked Xigmatek H/S, they work well with heat.

Pro2a: There is no i5 nor i7 that comes with 4Ghz at stock. As long as it is a safe OC, you are not really damaging it in any way. I had my E2140 OCed 95%, did that In '07. Still works today, on my dad's PC. CPU's do not come pre-clocked.

(too fast, Yami...)
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Novice OCer

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
(too fast, Yami...)
Heh, it's so often you end up ninja'ing me, I thought I'd take the chance
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 04:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Novice OCer

Hehe

OK. Slay. My OC is set with CPU 1.30625v, IMC 1.16v. Any lower, and I get errors in Linx or a BSOD with 0x0124. I think that is my barrier. My temps are around 68C MAX with Linx. A long way from 80C. Otherwise around the mid to higher 30s. Think this about the closest I can get.

While we're on the same subject, you know how to quicken my RAM timings? Theyre currently at 8 8 8 22. Yeah, that is 4x 2GB.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Novice OCer

This literally made me choke laughing so hard.

Slay, you're nuts! A perfect 4ghz in one swoop?

I can't wait to clock my new build.

Pro2a: The main thing about OCing is you get more power for less money.





1000 posts! Party time!
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help regarding RAM! Please! (Novice) Mounce System Upgrades 3 04-22-2009 11:39 PM
First time OCer and heatsink ratzlaff Overclocking and Modding 34 12-13-2008 08:31 PM
Novice Needs Help :) d3nd3 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 07-03-2008 01:54 PM
Athlon 4800, easy ocer? backup287 Overclocking and Modding 11 02-13-2007 06:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.