Not sure if you knew but AM2... - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 07:56 PM   #61 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Lets just wait till they release the conroe to see what goes down in games. I hope the AMD that beats the conroe comes out on AM2, but anyways got my parts in today, motherboard is still being shipped... its basically two days late :-\ but heres a pic of what I have now. AND I LOVE MY CASE!!! Oh before the pic, figure I would list what is on my IHS, not sure whats good yet though

ADA3000IAA4CN
LBBVF 0617GPCW
Q612222E61271

Anyone mind telling me what that all means again?? Been some time since I done any overclocking or comparing...
http://img479.imageshack.us/my.php?i...erparts9mp.jpg
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:12 PM   #62 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

My friend has that same case. He thought it was awesome too until he started using it for a month. It **** out on him in one month.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:47 PM   #63 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I love the case, very flimsy, but I love it. Has two huge *** fans, like 3 times the size of a 120mm fan for intake/exhaust, but yea it is a pain to work with.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 01:27 AM   #64 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

nice build, hope you enjoy it! and tell us how those am2 processors run
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:53 PM   #65 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
The "review" conroe has so far, it hasn't been released yet. And the Intel burn outs I had where not caused by me, they just burned out. The AMD burn outs I have had are allways caused by a volt mod I do to the motherboard or my recent IHS removal....
Benchmarks have been run on production stepping you know.. Check out extreme tech
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 03:34 PM   #66 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I will tell as soon as the motherboard comes in.... UPS seems to take time with packages that are from cally......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 11:01 PM   #67 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Strange.... CPUz shows that this is basically an FX chip... Says that it is an AMD Athlon 64 FX-39 rofl. Anyways almost none of the programs that I have downloaded are showing any information about this build correctly. Nothing shows the timings of my RAM, the manufacture of any of the parts like the motherboard/ram/graphics card... Only system propertys shows anything correctly... Anyways can't wait to get everything installed so I can run some benchmarks and start overclocking in a week or so.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:18 AM   #68 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Its probably because nobody has re-written their programs for AM2.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:22 AM   #69 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

CPUz just did... strange there name for the core is windsor while the box and newegg says that its Orleans.... wtf?? Plus CPUz is saying that it is a Dual Core processor but the box don't say anything about the cores.... Meh so far 2.3Ghz stable in prime for 15 min, 1.48Vcore, strange that's the lowest I can go with out staying stock... Oh and another thing these new chipsits are HOT AS ****!!!! It will literaly burn your finger, put my thumb on it for a split second and pulled it off.... Part of my finger print was melted.... And that is when there is no load on the system, and there are no temp probes on this motherboard for the processor or chipsit. I have been keeping an eye on the CPU heatsink, was a ***** to install, so much force is needed to get the stock heatsink clips down. But I put my finger as close as I can to the bottom and it's extremly cool down there.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 01:40 AM   #70 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

@ cedjunior:
when he said "unless I forced the burn out or done something stupid like I did today." he was refering to amd.
im an amd/nvidia guy myself.. why you ask? no reason... why do houstonians like the astros? why does new york like the mets and yankees? simply because they were brought up that way. and if i were really updating my system that much, i'd look into intel no doubt. but if there were two chips equal in power, i'd go with amd because i too am a 'fanboy'.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.