Not sure if you knew but AM2... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2006, 10:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

For now, yes. But these are just the early processors for AM2, wait a few months I am sure they will start to release the dual core versions. And for me I really don't need a dual core, single is just fine for me.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 03:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well same goes for conroe... it hasnt been released, so its got more time to get even better... or worse.. but who knows, and who cares, just let the competition role in, its what keeps things cheap, and why new things keep coming out, so i say, who cares whats better, it just motivates the other company to outdo them for a cheaper price
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 02:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
It still has to be OCed, like any other Intel processor.
In the benchmarks where the Intel was OC'd, the AMD processor was also OC'd. Otherwise it was the 2.66GHz Conroe up against the 2.8 GHz FX60.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Ever stop and think that those are the high end conroes being overclocked and that they are "review" processors for a reason?? Any company could find the best of there product and send it in for review by other people to get good marks with others and people would buy the processor just for it to end up looking like ****. AMD could do it, Intel could do it, and so could other companys.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 02:25 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Amazing. Truely amazing.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 02:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

oh and about the dual core, check monarchcomputer.com, you'll find them there 5000+ dangit!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 02:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I have allready ordered my new system, should be here in a week if it don't go on backorder....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 03:01 PM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

nice, tell me how it goes, because i'm considering an am2. What kind of ram did you get? i want some ddr900.. overclock like mad..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 03:20 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Quote:
In the benchmarks where the Intel was OC'd, the AMD processor was also OC'd. Otherwise it was the 2.66GHz Conroe up against the 2.8 GHz FX60.
Exactly my point. Its a NEW Intel processor OCed to stil match the AMD. The AMD has been around forever it seems like and yet all this commotion about the new Intel when it still has to be OCed.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 03:26 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Exactly my point. Its a NEW Intel processor OCed to stil match the AMD. The AMD has been around forever it seems like and yet all this commotion about the new Intel when it still has to be OCed.
I don't think you're quite catching on. 2.66 GHz is the stock speed of the Conroe being used in the benchmarks, and 2.8 GHz is the stock speed of the AMD being used in the benchmarks. There is no overclocking going on there. In the benchmarks where the Conroe was over clocked, the AMD was ALSO over clocked just as much. The Conroe did not have to be overclocked to beat the AMD at stock speeds. And it doesn't matter whether the AMD processor is a million years old, it still costs $1000 and offers less preformance than it's $500 Intel counterpart.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.