Northwood Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2004, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default Northwood Overclocking

How many people have successfully done this?
Is it hard to unlock and does it still stay reasonably cool?
Also, what mobo have you used.

State the initial speed that you purchased it at and then the new speed and an opinion on how stable it is. Thanks.

dbernie41 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

I'v never heard of a case where someone OCed their Northwood...

-Dan The Man

<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort

Northwood's are one of the best Intel core's to overclock.
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

As far as I know Intels multiplier cannot be unlocked, its fixed.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120

I have a 3.0 Ghz Northwood overclocked to 3.6 all day long. It runs very stable, however when overclocking you should upgrade the heatsink and fan from the stock one. I use the Zalman Alu/Cu hsf. Northwoods are GREAT cpus to overclock. They dont run as hot as Prescotts.
Intel multipliers are locked. To my knowledge there is no way to unlock them. My Asus mobo makes overclocking a cinch. Throught the bios->chipset configuration I can choose to overclock by percentage and avoid messing with the fsb. Here are a few links to get you started on overclocking:
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.